SRS Anyone else extremely skeptical?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Carl Brutananadilewski, Jan 18, 2009.

1. Carl Brutananadilewski

Carl Brutananadilewski Active Member

I guess that is how I would describe it. I tend to find myself doubting most of what people, even friends and family, tell me. I'm not sure how best to describe it.

For example, I have a date next week with a girl from work. The girl is REALLY cute, awesome personality, etc. and according to her friend she is really into me. We actually had planned to go out this week, but she went aout of town to visit a friend she hasn't seen in a long time. For some reason, and I know it's irrational, I have a nagging doubt that she just told me that and isn't actually interested.

Anyone else like this? I dunno if it's just because of my career that I doubt what everyone tells me (I work security full time and I'm a cop part time), or subconciously I am still emotionally fucked over my divorce about 7 months ago.

This sucks :hsd:

2. eljefedetonto

eljefedetonto OT Supporter

all. the. time. I can't tell you how many times I've slipped up with a girl just because I didn't think she was interested, only to put the pieces together later and realize she probably was at that point.

In my case, I'm guessing it's mostly due to seeing and experiencing the worst in people while I was growing up.

3. no lol today

no lol today Soy la bailarina de la muerta. OT Supporter

I've learned to internalize it, I guess. Roll with the situation & keep a reasonable distance until doubts are either dispelled or validated.

Don't hold back from going out, just remain a little aloof & gently investigate - no interrogating. If it seems like the situation is not ideal, just don't pursue any further.

Sometimes you just have to choose between instinct & personal want.

4. BwanaKuu

BwanaKuu New Member