Anyone done a Gentoo stage 3 install?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Penguin Man, Sep 19, 2004.

  1. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I want to do a stage 1, but I don't have time right now, so I'm thinking I'll do a stage 3. Anyone know about how long it takes? If it can be done in a few hours then I'll just do it tonight or tomorrow.
     
  2. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    It can, at least when I did it a couple of years ago
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Awesome, I think I'll do it then.
     
  4. rumperpumper

    rumperpumper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    what is gentoo?
     
  5. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    A linux disto, it's got a great support forum and uses an port system comparible to bsd's to update and get software. But I've found it not to be very secure at all. When I subscribed to cert advisories, i would get atleast 2 emails a day about them.
     
  6. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yeah, I went back to Debian :dunno:
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Any Linux distro is only as secure as you make it. With Gentoo you have complete control, so you could make it as secure as you want or as insecure as you want.

    As for Debian, I would like to try Debian, but it doesn't come with a 2.6 kernel (at least as far as I can see), so it would actually be a downgrade from my current SuSE 9.1 installation (kernel 2.6.4).
     
  8. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    I was pretty sure Debian does have the 2.6 available under Sarge and if I remember right it was upto 2.6.8, so no worries about downgrading.
     
  9. Dobis P.R.

    Dobis P.R. Guest

    My friend Ben swears by Gentoo. He has it on all of his systems. He really knows what he is doing though.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I just finished getting X up and running and I'll definetely be doing more Gentoo installs in the future. It's an awesome system as long as you're not afraid of the command-line and editing text files.
     
  11. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I got almost everything setup, and I really like the distro, but I'm unable to get my printing and sound working and I don't have time to mess around with it right now, so I'm going back to SuSE. I'll probably try Gentoo again sometime around Christmas when I have time to fuck around and get things working.
     
  12. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin

    :bigthumb:
     
  13. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    just user virtualpc or vmware and play with it. that is what i did for a while until i got confident in setting it up in one go.

    but now im on suse 9.1 fighting with my ati card for dual monitors. it will be the death of me to get it!
     
  14. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I tried to install it in VMWare, but the liveCD wouldn't boot properly :dunno:

    As for dual monitors, mine work great, but I have an nVidia card.
     
  15. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    VMWare makes things even more difficult :ugh:
     

Share This Page