Anyone building a pc needs to read this v. Intel price slash

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Doc Brown, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would strongly recommend that anyone wishing to buy a core 2 duo, wait until the 22nd of this month when Intel is going to slash processor prices again.

    The E6600 is dropping to $224

    The E4300 (equivelent to the E6300) is dropping to $113

    And get this, the E6700 is dropping to $316

    Also, Intel is releasing an E4400 which will clock in at an even 2ghz for $133

    Life is good.
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    no word on a quad core price drop?
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Not that I saw. It looks like it's just the dual core cpu's.

    The D935 is going to be $84
    And the D925 will be $74

    I can't help but wonder what the Celerons are going to go for.
    They're just about going to have to give them away now.
     
  4. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is AMD going to compete with this? AMD better get their new shit out and cheap.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    AMD dropped their prices in just the past week or two.
    So this is Intel's way of keeping on top.
    Plus, I think they're fucking AMD for buying ATI.

    It's a war, fella's. Enjoy it while you can.
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh, and just an FYI for people on the E4300.

    I just read an overclocking review of one and they managed to get the speed doubled with water cooling.
    That's right. A 100% overclock.

    Even if you "only" got a 50% overclock, that would put you near E6800 Core 2 Duo speed for $113.
     
  7. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Link to source information, please.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    What, you don't believe me? :slap:
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  11. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's not that I don't believe, it's that I want to read the entire source article :)
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Dude, I was just goofing around. :fawk:
     
  13. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    wow its a good thing i waited, i was going to order some new parts about a month ago.
     
  14. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    That's insane Overclocking!
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've been thinking of redoing my backup computer, so I was doing some digging around for prices on the E4300 when I found the links.

    With the lower prices, I might put an E6420 with the 4mb cache in it ftw.
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, but to be fair the memory costs almost $600

    I figure with some XMS2 though, you could probably still push it close to 3ghz.

    Newegg has 2 gigs of the XMS2 with 444-12 timing on sale for like $135 after rebate right now.
     
  17. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    4MB FTMFW!
     
  18. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Intel must realize how much everybody is digging the 4mb cpu's.

    Even the 1.86ghz E6320 has 4mb for $163.

    I paid that much for one of the slower PIII chips back in the day. :mamoru:
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    cache is king. AMD didn't realize that when they orig had 939's with 1MB and then droped down the 512KB. Lame. I'd rather have the cache than 200MHz!!!



    INTEL >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> AMD
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    (yawn)

    I'm waiting on quad-core A64's before building my next machine. I don't even care if C2D is faster, doing what I do for a living has taught me that CPU speed is largely irrelevant nowadays.

    (stretch)
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, but INTEL > AMD...
     
  24. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    have you tried editing video? Good gawd. I have an HD camcorder that I've been backing up the tapes to. This is the main reason I've been looking into upgrading my rig. I wanted to edit Video, but I gave up.
     
  25. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I haven't tried to edit video. I don't own a video camera, or a still camera that can record short clips, or a VCR, or a TV. :dunno: I guess I'm a loser.

    You're absolutely right that streaming processes (A/V editing, movies, etc.) don't benefit directly from multiple cores since tasks like those are linear processes. However,you're neglecting to consider that most people under most circumstances are running more than one thing at once on their machines (including yourself, unless you're somehow running an A/V editor in DOS :hsugh:) and multiple cores == less thrashing about and wasted timeas processes are swapped in and out of the CPU. Furthermore, even your A/V editing can't really take advantage of a CPU much faster than 3GHz unless you have an insane amount of RAM, because pulling data off the hard drive will slow the process down considerably. I bet you'd do just fine with a dual-core machine.

    EDIT: Try decreasing the priority of your A/V editor in Task Manager and see if it runs better. It's been my experience, having written a program dedicated to controlling process priority, that processes that chug along tend to step on the drivers that keep them supplied with data; knocking your A/V editor down to "Below Normal" or possibly even "Low" could smooth out your experience a lot, assuming your machine is reasonably modern.
     

Share This Page