any tmobile customers using the blackberry 8320? wifi question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ANUS_MANGLER, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. ANUS_MANGLER

    ANUS_MANGLER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    any tmobile customers using the blackberry curve 8320? wifi question

    its time for a new phone. my samsung t509 is randomly shutting off and the battery has been sucking the last few months. i was loooking into the blackberry 8320 as my next phone. i have never had a smart phone and dont really have a huge need for one, but i read this phone can pick up wifi and that got me interested. I dont use internet enough to justify the extra $20 a month for internet and im in enough areas with wifi that i can get just use random networks.


    But ive been getting mixed reviews on whether you can surf the web with that wifi or if its just used for the free hotspot calling.

    that'd be pretty gay if it was just used for calling, and i tried asking the guy at the tmobile booth and the fucker didnt know :ugh2:


    anyways.....help?
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2008
  2. jmechy

    jmechy Calmer then you are.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    I'm pretty sure that no version of the curve has wifi.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the 8320 does have wifi. And its only on tmobile because they have the WORST network in the country in terms of data. They NEED wifi to sell such a data-centric device as a bb.

    I'd say ditch the shitty carrier and go somewhere better.

    On normal networks you NEED the bb data plan to use data. Not sure if tmobile will let you use wifi for inet access without it. Maybe. Maybe not. Try it.

    However, if you want a blackberry, then you are either a poser that only cares about "image" or you want some of the bb features -- and that needs the bb plan!
     
  4. oakie

    oakie my ninja.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    26,172
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    SoDo
    you can use the wifi on the 8320 for internet access. you're just not allowed to download and install apps OTA without a BIS account.
     
  5. Pavester

    Pavester New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    21,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW, Texas.
    i just picked one up and yea you can use the wifi to surf.
     

Share This Page