A&P Any tips on how to shoot panoramic?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by mystix, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. mystix

    mystix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto.ca
    Well im in Hong Kong for vacation and want to do a panoramic shot. How exactly do I go about doing this? Do I just point the camera vertically, and just try to capture everything? I am using a very basic tripod and very limited in lens, the kit lens and a 50mm prime. So which one should i use? My camera is the 400d.

    Here is an unprocessed picture I took the other day of what I want to do the panoramic on.

    [​IMG]

    yes i am aware of the horizon, i couldnt level the tripod
     
  2. joy division

    joy division New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hollywood, LAids
    get a panoramic camera (film).
     
  3. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/stitching.shtml


    Haven't read it but I skimmed it and it looks like it gives good pointers. I would prob. go with the kit lens only cause its wider unless you can get all you want in the frame with the 50, as the Canon kit lenses are garbage from what I hear from people posting here.
     
  4. kronik85

    kronik85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deutschland

    just so you know, you can use photoshop to level pictures very easily. use the ruler tool, click on the left side of the horizon, click on the right side of the horizon (two points that should be perfectly horizontal), and then go to rotate, arbitrary rotation, and it should have a value already in it (like 4.38 degrees or such). that's the value needed to bring those two points to horizontal. just click ok and it hsould be level.
     
  5. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    I would use the 50 for the pano that way you don't have to worry about distortion.
     
  6. mystix

    mystix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto.ca
    Thanks for that link.

    Should I also shoot with mirror lock up?
    And where should I set up the focus point? One of the brighter buildings?

    Kronik: I am aware of the ruler function, I am just on a computer with no PS or lightroom. Thanks for the tip though
     
  7. kronik85

    kronik85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deutschland
    gotcha, you just gave your only reason as the tripod. didn't know if you knew. :wiggle:
     
  8. Devin

    Devin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    CS3 Photomerge ..seriously it works this version . END /
     
  9. Mr_Penut

    Mr_Penut Elitist Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    30,697
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    kanadia
    listen to joydivision

    get a medium format body

    hax a 35mm film back on there

    ???

    profit
     
  10. Mirror lock up :bigthumb:

    Focus points = :nono:

    You will want to manually focus, at least I do anyways :dunno:, plus your probably using an aperture like f/11 maybe plus or minus, so you shouldnt have too much of a problem.
     

Share This Page