any runners? v 4:59 mile goal

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by mikeskillz, Apr 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mikeskillz

mikeskillz New Member

lately i've been running more, and i'd eventually (maybe a year from now?) like to do a marathon. i run 2 miles to the gym and lift, then run 2 miles back, and every so often i'll skip the gym and just do a 7 mile run.

i set a personal goal, mostly for bragging rights, to do a 4:59 mile. i've gotten down to a 5:30ish but im wondering what i can do to increase my speed. are there certain workouts or exercises i can do to increase my speed and endurance whilst (almost) sprinting? or is it just something i need to get through repetition.

2. cura

cura New Member

I am not a total expert on this ( I run ~6 min miles), but training at short distances at faster speeds may help.

Good luck!

3. Uglybob69

Uglybob69 I miss beer.

HIIT may be just what the doctor ordered.

4. Duck Hunter

Duck Hunter New Member

Run sets of 400's and 800's

5. Moolex

Moolex New Member

Came in here to post this. Also, practice timed miles on AND off the track.

6. Moolex

Moolex New Member

Strategy is good for 10-15 seconds depending on how you usually run it. If you plan out your entire run and have a plan for each 100M it really helps.

7. mikeskillz

mikeskillz New Member

i dont know what this is :hs:

8. BrownWalrus

BrownWalrus New Member

HIIT

If you are in shape, most people here would recommend you do HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) where you work out at high intensities for short intervals (who would have imagined?) This technique burns a much more fat then slow cardio.

In the stickies :hs:

9. SmartPowders

SmartPowders New Member