Any of you .NET guys use CSLA?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SLED, Dec 4, 2007.

1. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

2. Pork Chop Sandwiches

Pork Chop Sandwiches Extraordinary Member

We use a customized version of it at work. Unfortunately I'm not a developer and can't give you any insight into it. Overall, our developers like it but find some of its objects a little cumbersome.

3. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

I hate business object frameworks.

4. SLED

explain

5. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

I find that almost all java frameworks add more overhead than they save you time.

I just use plain old javabeans for my model objects. That just means I set and get in certain ways. No big deal. Persist objects with iBatis. Convert them to XML with Simple-xml. Offer web services via RESTlet. These tools fit together very will without a business object abstraction. It doesn't get any simpler than this combo, and it works very, very well. Developing using business object frameworks like J2EE is torturous, slow, and will greatly expand your scope and cause a project to fail.

If I was doing general web development in Java, and believe me I WOULDN'T BE because it is so much less efficient than in a dynamic language, I'd use the lightest weight MVC/templating system I could find. I've looked, and I haven't found one, even the 'lightweight ones' that aren't like shutting your balls in a safe compared to the dynamic frameworks.

So, I say roll your own application framework using very lightweight tools, otherwise Java pattern junkies will drown you in patterns.

Disclaimer: I don't know shit about that one in particular :)

6. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

I am drinking, and just made a post about Java in a .NET thread.

But uhh... you know what I mean.

7. whup

whup I wish you had children and.. so that I could step