Any of you computer gurus know whats going on?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TysonLee, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    it might be hard to see the picture cause photobucket resized it but can anyone tell me what the hell is causing this to happen? when i move the mouse of them they go away but its kind of annoying you know


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    does this happen only on "network/unplugged" icon?
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Never seen that one before.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    bad nic or bad drivers
     
  5. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes. it only started doing this a couple days ago


    its my laptop so i dont know if the nic card is easliy replaceable or not :wtc:
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Most likely it's part of the motherboard, so it's not replaceable.

    But if it's still online, then maybe don't worry about it?
     
  7. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    i get online no problem. its just annoying. i just thought i would ask and see if there was a simple fix for it or not. i guess ill just keep doing the mouse over to get rid of them
     
  8. darkjedi

    darkjedi Muay Thai expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    93,234
    disable the NIC in device manager. it will disappear
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If it's a notebook, won't it have just one?
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    try

    right click on the start button > properties > taskbar tab > customize > restore defaults
     
  11. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    If it works, you can go into the network properties and have it not show the icon when connected.
     
  12. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    lol...that is awesome
     
  13. TrailerParkMark

    TrailerParkMark New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate
    yep... yep... I've seen this before... it's spyware... delete your yahoo tool bar and take it to geeksquad if you still have this problem...

    yep
     
  14. MrPhan

    MrPhan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    time to format and reinstall i say hehe
     
  15. GooeyGus

    GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marysville, WA
    I've seen this before on a computer that was set to auto-standby after like 20 mins. every time It would go into standby another one of those icons would show up. Bump the desk, comp wakes up, goes back to sleep, another icon. Like you said, as soon as you run the mouse over them they went away. Does it sound like this could be the situation in your case as well?
     
  16. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    it goes into standby when i close the lid of the laptop. and i do get the icons when its in standby but while im sitting here typing ill get one very randomly.
     
  17. fog99

    fog99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Motherboards r replaceable its just a pain.
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you ever replaced a laptop motherboard? You have to disassemble almost the entire laptop to get it out, and they're all custom-made in special shapes and sizes (unlike desktop motherboards) so they cost like $600 apiece. You're almost always better off buying a new machine at that point.
     

Share This Page