Any ideas what would cause Windows to not update?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The Green Bastard, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Been trying to fix a friend's computer (2.4 Ghz, 248 MB Ram, Win XP Home) and they haven'y gotten SP1 or SP2 yet.
    When you click "Windows Update" in the programs menu, it brings up a blank screen, after the file bar at the bottom shows it trying to connect.
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Possible activeX problems. Try finding the page to download the whole SP2 directly and install it. With any luck it might fix whatever's wrong with IE.
     
  3. Grifter

    Grifter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the southwest
    it sounds like he hasnt even loaded the page for the activex to kick in
    is it a pirated xp?
     
  4. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    No, it's a legit system/OS. New Compaq Presario they got at Xmas last year, brand new. They've had some wierd prolems with it, though. They called Tech support, gave the model #, and the tech said "No, you can't have that computer. That model was never sold in Canada." They tried to convince the tech that they indeed had that computer, but the tech kept saying they were wrong.

    They bought it at a local Walmart!!

    Where can a person find SP2 complete? Can I download it somewhere, burn it and install it for them?
     
  5. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    They didn't uninstall IE for any reason did they?
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Serach Microsoft.com for the network install of SP2.
     
  8. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
  9. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Nope. IE works as good as it can, although when I click ABOUT IE......

    [​IMG]

    The highlighted areas are empty.
     

Share This Page