Any ideas what would cause windows explorer to be SLOOWWWW to open?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The Green Bastard, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    even on a fresh reboot, it takes my computer 10-15 seconds to open Win explorer. (WINDOWS + E)

    ????
     
  2. Jaysin

    Jaysin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Tx (Woodlands)
    Check your task manager, the process is running/ but the desktop isnt being displayed?
     
  3. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Not sure if I follow you. I have a normal functioning desktop. Explorer.exe is running in the background. Currently at 12,812 K memory usage.
     
  4. PrinzII

    PrinzII New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have memory leaks with any of the processes?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    We need to look at the thread starter (TGB)

    the problem is obviously gay buttsecks porn websites viewed through MSIE.
     
  6. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    TGB?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    The Green Bastard
     
  8. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    is your WIA service dead? I know if it crashes, it can slow windows explorer right down until it times out.
     
  9. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Got any pissed off removable devices? A lot of times explorer will hang trying to poll a drive that is being slow or otherwise cranky.
     
  10. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    The fact that you're experiencing an altered perception of time from the early effects of alzheimers? Maybe if you hoot it up to an HD projection screen it will load faster.
     
  11. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    :eek3: Dell 1905FP.
     
  12. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    WIA is running fine.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have any network folders that have been pointed to drive letters on your machine? Reconnecting to those network folders will slow Explorer down a good bit the first time you open it after rebooting.
     
  14. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Not sure what you mean, but I"m not on any network.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The answer is no, then.

    Hit Control + Shift + Escape, switch to the Performance tab in the Task Manager window, and monitor the CPU graph as you open Windows Explorer. See if the usage spikes or if it stays relatively flat. If it spikes, your computer is bogging down on something (see next paragraph); if it stays flat, then the computer is waiting for something to happen -- it could be a service that isn't starting properly, for example (I can't help you if this is the case; maybe someone else here can).

    If the computer is bogging down, switch to the Processes tab in Task Manager, open the View menu, and click on "Select Columns...". Add the "CPU Time" column and press OK. Then close Task Manager, do stuff on your computer for an hour or so, and then open Task Manager again. Sort the list of processes so the highest CPU Time is at the top of the list. Then PrintScreen the Task Manager window, save the picture by pasting it into MSPaint (or something similar) and post the picture here so we can see the list.
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  17. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,514
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Memory card readers in HP printers will do that to explorer. Stupid HP.
     
  18. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    My HP printer is OOOOLLDDD - there were no memory card readers when that thing was built :rofl:
     
  19. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    :cool::bowdown: Doing that now.
     
  20. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    (waits for progress report)
     
  21. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    My taskmanager spikes when I open Windows Explorer.
    [​IMG]



    And after an hour+ of normal usage:
    [​IMG]
     
  22. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    I also forgot to mention that I did a fresh XP Pro Barely Naked reinstall a month ago.
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm. I recognize all of those processes except one: "nod32krn.exe". Survey says it's an antivirus app. Try disabling your antivirus, rebooting, and opening Windows Explorer. See if it opens faster.

    Failing that, try to use the CPU Usage column in the Processes tab of Task Manager to identify which processes are causing those spikes when you load Windows Explorer. Tell us what they are, if you can identify them. Sorting the Process list by User Name should help with that.
     
  24. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    In checked msconfig, and had a couple startup items I didn't need: qttask, nerocheck, and SMSystemanalyzer.

    I disabled them first, rebooted, and it's fast to open explorer now.

    And that's with the antivirus still running.
    :o
    I should have looked in there first.
    :bigthumb::bigthumb::bowdown:
     
  25. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a good opportunity for a sound debate about euthanasia, and how it application for the elderly can save reources: both hospice care, and tech support.
     

Share This Page