Any idea what's wrong with my Recycle Bin??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The Green Bastard, Jul 6, 2003.

  1. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Started looking odd a couple days ago. I have Norton SystemWorks 2002 on board, and everything is OK.
    ????

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Hooli Meat

    Hooli Meat i enjoy a nice set of boobs

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville KY
    ur HDD may be starting to go.......my brother's icons started that then his HDD died :(
     
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    have u refreshed ur desktop?

    right click on desktop -> refresh.

    that works for me when i lose an icon
     
  4. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    I've refreshed dozens of times and rebooted dozens too.
    PC is working flawlessly.
     
  5. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Did you try resetting the icon? Go to display properties, then go to effects. Click on recycle bin full and click default icon, then do the same for recycle bin empty.
     
  6. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Tried it just now---still no worky.
    Ill reboot and try again.

    :)
     
  7. Woodmaster

    Woodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brasil
    hey the same thing happened to me and I cannot get around it. I thappened to my C drive folder.... when I open it it asks me to choose a program to run it. Any ideas?
     
  8. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Mine's still fucked up.
     
  9. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    get tweak ui and "rebuild icons"
     
  10. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    Already got it---Rebuild icons changed nothing.
    ??
     
  11. NoLiving

    NoLiving Guest

    Did you try running WinDoctor? That's fixed that problem for me before.
     
  12. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    WinDoctor from Norton Antivirus?

    Did it---no diff.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2003
  13. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    does it really bother u that much???
     
  14. Fantik

    Fantik Guest

    try uninstalling Jeopardy
     
  15. SombreroMan

    SombreroMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    9,910
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    City of Champions
    I thought that Norton replaced the RecycleBin...
    I think the icon is gone because there is no longer a Recycle Bin.
     
  16. The Green Bastard

    The Green Bastard Click click click bang

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    80,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Nova Scotia
    It used to look normal, and after rebooting the other day it looked odd. I've had NAV on there for a year or so.
    It still works and functions fine.
    And yes, it does bother me. Almost as much as birdshit on my car.
     

Share This Page