any good programs that free up ram

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by quickone, Oct 30, 2004.

  1. quickone

    quickone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Something for windows xp such as freeramxp for example. Do any of these work well?
     
  2. car1

    car1 Guest

    task manager
     
  3. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,915
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :rofl:
     
  4. quickone

    quickone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. KoopaTroopa

    KoopaTroopa OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,661
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fall River, Mass
    I just bought more RAM
     
  6. ced

    ced Guest

    Just get more RAM.

    A program really can't limit the amount of memory a program needs...and the program itsself (the one that is supposed to free up ram) will just be using more ram.

    A 512MB stick of PC3200 isn't too much money ($80), a 256MB stick is $40.
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :bigok: Would have been my reply as well.
     
  8. quickone

    quickone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    0

    Wow...I dont know where you go...but here for a 256mb stick of pc2700 RAM it's like $100.
     
  9. ced

    ced Guest

  10. Apothis

    Apothis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I recently got another stick of 512mb pc3200 for about $130+, and I overpaid for it because of convenience. Could have gotten it for less than $100, but store hours were incompatible with my work hours.
     
  11. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, aside from buying more RAM, you can allocate more VM. It's not as good as having more physical RAM, but at least it will work.

    If you have a lot of spyware/adware, then they can eat up your RAM, too.
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Increase your swap disk size too could help...
     
  13. KoopaTroopa

    KoopaTroopa OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,661
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fall River, Mass
    Circuit City just had a sale on Kingston 512MB PC2700 RAM. I'll pay about $65 after mail-in rebate
     

Share This Page