MMA Any good boxing/standup fighting websites/web communities/forums?

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by joonboy, Dec 11, 2006.

1. joonboy

joonboy thanks jennipher

I've got a heavy bag, gloves, and wraps and would like to begin training by myself

2. joonboy

joonboy thanks jennipher

Just found sherdog website's forum.. i'm looking under standup technique now

anyone got any others?

3. teep

teep New Member

Sherdog can be ok. This place is actually useful too.

Honestly, I'd say get yourself to a boxing gym and train there first. You can watch and read all the instructionals you want, but just wailing on the heavy bag yourself with no previous training will only develop bad habbits. Once you've trained for a little while under a good coach thats when self training can really be effective. Of course thats only if you actually want to learn to box. Boxing really isn't something that can be self taught. If its just for fun, screwing around, or just for exercise just hit it till you're tired I guess. If you want you can do rounds of jump rope, shadow boxing, and bag with plyos or other exercises in between.

4. CyberEye

CyberEye Oh god, the voices

If your serious about doing it yourself and don't want to find a gym like suggested above. I suggest finding the Bas Rutten training tapes.

5. Skeletor

Skeletor Guest

I agree with the above dudes... Find a gym.