MIL Any flight engineers here? 1A1X1

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by liberals=whiner, Aug 23, 2008.

1. Im currently a 2A5X1 and am in my re-train window. I would like to get a enlisted aviator job. My last 2 requests for 1A0X1 have been denied and am now thinking about an FE slot. I have 5 years experience on C-130s.

Im looking for someone to talk to about this career field, preferable someone that will give me honest straight forward answers about what they like about the job, what they dont like. Maybe a run down of their normal day. I would also like to know what the job really entails. Also are you married? how well has your family life survived?

If you dont want to post answers to this, please just pm me. I dont want to walk blindly into this job.

TIA guys

2. nsxrebel

nsxrebel New Member

What's a Flight Engineer?? jk, I'm a Loadsmasher on C-130J's, so we're pretty much FE's since we don't have them anymore. I pretty much fly up in the front most of the time unless you're doing airdrops or have pax in the rear, and during your routine checks. I have very few flight hours with a crew that included a flight engineer.

When flying, your day starts off by doing your preflight inspection. Make sure your plane is fueled and properly balanced. You assist (make sure the pilots are not doing anything stupid) the pilots, navigator, and loadmaster in the rear if they need help. If you're not doing any of those thing, you're reading the paper (sudoku), the latest maxim/stuff mag, or making meals. Travel is my favorite part of the job. Stay at nice hotels on the govt's tab. If you do get base quarters, most of the time you'll get officer's billeting.

3. ElCidKid

ElCidKid New Member

The Flight Engineer career is dying.

4. brackac

brackac Fuck all of this. OT Supporter

Still needed on the Osprey.

5. nsxrebel

nsxrebel New Member

:werd: