Another XP SP2 Question - Help with my FTP Server!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cmsurfer, Aug 13, 2004.

  1. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Hey, I'm working on getting my FTP server back up and running after installing SP2. In the firewall settings, I opened up port 21, but I'm having trouble with passive mode. I use a range of ports on my router for the FTP passive mode. When I go to conect to my FTP, it will connect, but then time out when going into passive mode. The error says "Data Socket Error: Connection Timed Out. List Error"

    I'm wondering if there is a way to open up and forward a range of ports through the firewall, or any other way.

    Any ideas? (Besides turning off the firewall...)

    EDIT: I was able to connect by not using passive mode on FlashFXP. What exactly is passive mode anyway??

    Thanks,
     
  2. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to open up the passive port range in the Windows firewall settings, as well as on the router.
     
  3. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    The Windows firewall only allows me to open one port per entry. The ports I use for Passive mode are 50000 - 50049. I tried to just open 50000 or 50049, but no go. They are already opened on the router and worked fine before.

    It does work if I dont use passive mode when connecting, but I'm looking to be able to use passive mode if I can without having to open each port in the range separately.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2004
  5. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Windows firewall sucks if it doesn't let you open up a range of ports. You might just have to do them one at a time.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It might be as a last resort, or just deal without passive mode.
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    why are you using the windows firewall in the first place? that thing is a POS. Just get a router.
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ

    I have a router like I said in my above posts. I just put on XP SP2 and want to give the firewall a chance.

    I also have a web server that I'm playing around with and I also want a software based firewall. Zonealarm was too much of a pain in the ass, so I'm trying out the Widows ones.

    Are you sure it's a POS? Have you even used it??

    Like I said above, any more ideas besides turning it off like I said before?

    I just need to find out if I can open a range of ports instead of doing one by one.
     
  9. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    my question is why do you need more than 1 firewall? You're already protected from the internet via your router. Unless there are security concerns on your local network?? Just disable that bitch and call it a day.
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Like I said, you're missing the point... I want to keep it on.
     
  11. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Three choices.
    Open all the ports for incoming traffic - defeats purpose of any firewall.

    Open a specified range of ports and allow them to be used (being sure to set this in the FTP server software) - Better but not great.

    Use a firewall that acts as a proxy to the ftp traffic that handles statefully handles pasv port transfers. - Great idea except in your case where the MS firewall does not do this.
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You: So I can by the optional hard top for this right?
    Salesman: Yup
    You: And do I need to keep the soft top on as well?
    Salesman: :rofl: No, no - you put the soft top down and the hard top goes on
    You: But what if I want both on at the same time?
    Salesman: :ugh: Umm, well there's really no reason why you would need two tops up :confused:
    You: :mad: No, you're missing the point. I WANT to have BOTH on.
    Salesman: :eek3:
     
  13. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The Mada dealership I go to here in Austin had some lady that brought in a Miata with the optional (removable) hard top and she said she wanted to trade it in on one of the "convertible Miatas". :hs: She had no idea hers was convertible all along.
     

Share This Page