Another noob with questions. Sorry.

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Boomer, Mar 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boomer

Boomer lulz OT Supporter

OK, so here's the deal. I'm 5'10, 130 lbs. I want to gain... a lot. I'm new to this whole thing, so don't jump on me if I don't understand something :hs:

I've read through all the noob threads in the archives, but I still have a few questions.

1) First off, I know I need to eat as much as I can. I'm shooting for 4500 calories a day. Is this a good amount at my weight?

2) Being a college student, it's not going to be possible to eat a meal every 3 hours. So will shakes be an acceptable replacement to eating all day? I've seen some shakes with over 1500 calories in them, so I don't see how it could be hard to acheive 4500 a day.

3) Speaking of shakes, does anyone have any links for recipes? I bought some whey today, and plan on buying some type of oil too. Should I buy fish oil?

4) I also bought some creatine powder. I've read that creatine alone will make you gain weight because of water retention in the muscles, but will this be a noticeable difference? Also, I won't start lifting until next week. If I'm not lifting, does it do any good to start taking creatine now?

5) Alright, last question. I have access to a great gym, but it's all machines :wtc: Is it absolutely necessary to use freeweights? If it is, I'll get a set somehow.

Sorry for being such a noob, hopefully you guys are helpful. Looking forward to joining the crowd here.

2. hip hippo

hip hippo Eric Berry, son.

Find free weights. :squint:

3. Socrates

Socrates New Member

[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] The only way to gain muscle mass quickly is to use free weights. Most machines are a waste of time and they give you a false sense of strength. Pro bodybuilders and Olympic athletes do not use machines — they use free weights almost exclusively. - AE
    [/font]

4. nathanbx

nathanbx New Member