Annoying uTorrent problem: Can't browse web while utorrent running

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by VladTemplar, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off I followed the speed guide, I haven't tweaked any internal settings, and I'm using nVidia's network access manager. uTorrent warns that this can cause memory problems for uTorrent, but checking uTorrent's FAQ shows that this has been resolved with the recent release of nVidia's software (which I have) and that the notice will be removed on the next version.

    I don't understand how it manages to squelch out my web browsing. I can fireup a usenet client and max my pipe at 1.8-2.0 MB/s and the nVidia software will prioritize Firefox just fine (I can browse like I'm not downloading anything). This does NOT work for uTorrent.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use Azureus instead.
     
  3. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had it in the past and had problems :-/
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Regular old BitTorrent works just fine for me.
     
  5. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,918
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
  6. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    try reducing global maximum number of connections
     
  8. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got it down to 200 and my router can handle 4096 :-/
     
  9. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Get netlimiter. You can limit bandwidth usage of any app. Set your torrent app to just below your cap and you should be good to go.
     
  10. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0

    If you'll read the entire first post you'll see that overall bandwidth usage isn't the issue.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    play with the # of connections. try lower.
    your ISP could be setting up the limits.

    the way I see it, utorrent is using up all of your connections which is why web browsing won't work. web browsing does work if utorrent is not running right?

    so it's either that or the nvidia network manager is messing things up.
     
  12. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've uninstalled the network manager and it persisted. I've cranked it down to next to no connections and it still persists. I've also tried getting a fresh install.
     
  13. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    what version of utorrent?
    is it the same problem with Azureus?
     
  14. Dnepr

    Dnepr Guest

    What router?


    IBsmallNATtable
     
  15. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Azureus functions fine.
     
  16. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    WRT54GL running DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final
     
  17. Dnepr

    Dnepr Guest

    I got same router, but using HyperWRT Thibor 15c no problems here at all.


    Try that, very good firmware.
     
  18. VladTemplar

    VladTemplar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just gave up on uTorrent and switched to Azureus. I'm maxing out my pipe constantly and browsing the web. Bye bye uTorrent.
     

Share This Page