An extremely hard computer question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by grumpy, Jul 25, 2003.

  1. grumpy

    grumpy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 exiting 256 DDRAMS PC2100.
    I recently bought 1 512 DDRAMS PC2100

    I stick them in and my comp doesn't work.

    WHY?

    I tried all combinations in arragements.
    All rams work individually.

    My specs are PENT 4 1.6 GIG.


    Does anyone know?
     
  2. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    maybe your mobo only supports 512? hehe simplest answer I can come up with at 4am
     
  3. linuxkoder

    linuxkoder i kan kode...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the emerald city
    they probally have to be in pairs...i know the rambus memory on my comp has to be installed in pairs, something to do with balancing out the voltages or something like that

    try buying another stick of memory
     
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    What does your computer do? Just saying it won't work isn'tvery helpfull. Is it making it through POST? Boot up? Start up?
     
  5. Anti-social

    Anti-social We deal in lead

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    22,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The path of the beam
    I had problems with a bad ram bank (#2). Switched to #1 and #3 and works fine.
     
  6. grumpy

    grumpy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    I solved it myself!
    I'm using Windows 98 (first version) and it doens't support 1024. =(

    I thought about the rams being in pairs but that's only for rambus.

    now i gotta upgrade to win xp.
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    windows 98??!!! :ugh2:
     
  8. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,392
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Actually, some newer DDR chipsets require DIMMs in pairs now.
     

Share This Page