amp and woofer questions, im new to this, please help me out

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by robbinthehood, Mar 12, 2004.

1. robbinthehood

robbinthehood New Member

Right now I'm driving a 2000 subaru impreza 2.5 rs and its got the stock speakers in it but i put in an alpine CDA-9807 head unit. the speakers i have dont support much base and have that fuzzy crappy sound to them. ive been looking into getting a subwoofer or new speakers or something but im not sure what i should do first. should i just get a 2 channel amplifier and put half the power to a sub and half to the speakers that are already in the car? or should i invest in some new speakers before i go for the amp and sub? if i kept the speakers i have now and got a sub, would an amp make the speakers sound better and still produce good bass from the sub? any help and advice is welcomed, i dont really know a whole lot about car audio. thanks.

2. 04

04 Guest

I would get the new speakers before the amp and sub. Speakers are almost always the weakest link - by far. However, note that by simply replacing the speakers you probably wont get much more bass, you'll really want a sub if you want decent levels of bass output.

If you bought simply an amplifier and sub, you wouldnt get any better sound at low volumes, it would only get louder, which IS pretty important if you listen at high levels.

3. robbinthehood

robbinthehood New Member

alright thanks, i just talked with my dad and he has a powered sub and an amp at his house that isnt currently in use and he told me he'd send them to me so im set in that department. i think the speakers i have now will sound decent when the bass is taken away by the sub. when i turn the bass all the way down they sound decent and its got 2 tweeters too.

4. BlackHBDX

BlackHBDX The grey fixer