AMD64 won't boot windows xp 32bit

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AzNpOwEr, Jul 19, 2004.

  1. AzNpOwEr

    AzNpOwEr It's sunny out....

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York (From Taiwan)
    WTF It won't boot windows xp32bit but it can boot windows xp 64 bit...Anyone know why?
     
  2. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Must be a bad 32bit windows CD. I have several AMD64 chips and it works fine. Which motherboard/cpu? What is the error you get with the 32bit Windows CD?
     
  3. AzNpOwEr

    AzNpOwEr It's sunny out....

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York (From Taiwan)
    I tried many 32bit windows xp cds but none of them work. I can boot from Windows ME, Windows 2000, and Windows XP 64bit edition.

    The problem is before i get to the "press any keep to boot" screen it just freezes or it gives me the message "CDBOOT: Cannot boot from CD - Code:1"

    AMD64 Athlon 3400+
     
  4. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    What motherboard? I'll try this out at work to see if I can replicate it...

    (hint: i work at AMD)
     
  5. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    PS -- I am almost certain it is a BIOS related issue.
     
  6. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Likely it is the board. A friend of mine had this problem and swapped his deck out for another model and it worked fine. Don't know which one he had at first though. :dunno:

    I've been running XP 32bit since I got my 64 chip, atleast until a working linux distro comes out that is compatible with my hardware. Which will basically be when ati releases 64 bit drivers. :squint:
     
  7. AzNpOwEr

    AzNpOwEr It's sunny out....

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York (From Taiwan)
    I'm not sure which motherboard it is but the core logic is "VIA K8T800 + VT8235". This is the exact problem that I have. http://notebookforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1029 However, I cannot install by going to /i386/winnt.exe. It just freezes when the setup is copying files. Again Windows ME, 2000, and 64bit work fine.
    btw, It is a laptop.
     
  8. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    which laptop?
     
  9. AzNpOwEr

    AzNpOwEr It's sunny out....

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York (From Taiwan)
  10. AzNpOwEr

    AzNpOwEr It's sunny out....

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York (From Taiwan)
    *Update: Windows XP home edition works too!
    Why won't the professional one work!?!?!@!@#$@#%
     
  11. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I cant help much unless I know what motherboard it is. I am convinced though that its either a bad CD or BIOS issue. Have you tried calling the manufacturer?
     
  12. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    how odd.
     
  13. AzNpOwEr

    AzNpOwEr It's sunny out....

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York (From Taiwan)
    Yeah, they told me bad cd too, but i tried like 4 different cds. Same result. Maybe the system is recognizing it as a "copied" cd (based on what I read here http://notebookforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1029 )and won't allow it to go on? If so is there anyway to get around that?
     
  14. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a real CD -- stop trying to use a bBurned one.
     

Share This Page