AMD or Intel?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lolerskates, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. lolerskates

    lolerskates New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm building a pc, i will be using it to game and surf and porn and all the other shit you use computers for, I'm trying to budget it below $700. Back in the P2 K6 2 days I owned both and my K6 always out did my P2, so I have been looking into AMD for my new build. How much better are intel's processors vs AMD's no a days? I'm gonna run dual core, but is it worth the price difference for someone on a budget? I have no plans on over clocking.
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Intel > AMD right now.

    Search threads about budget builds.
    There are lists for both Intel and AMD rigs.
     
  3. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Intels CPUs are kicking AMDs butt right now, but for a budget system AMD might be a good way to go.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the diff in price for intel vs amd was only $22 in the budget-build thread. And the intel system also had a better psu, better mobo, and a dvd-rw -- all things that the $22 cheaper AMD system did not have. When you take that into account, the Intel system would actually have been cheaper, and it is certainly the better performer.

    You're a fucking fool to buy AMD at this point.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    One way for you to approach this would be to pick out a case, psu, memory, dvd burner and graphics.
    When you see how much you have left of your $700 budget, it will be much easier to decide where your best bang for the buck is going to be as far as motherboard/cpu goes.
     
  6. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    the $169 amd 6000+ preforms just as well as the $220 intel e6600. aka amd better for budget.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Well that would be true if "just as well" was true. Reality, however, tells us otherwise!
     
  8. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Show us where there is a huge performace gap. All the performance tests on the various hardware websites I've seen show the 6000+ and e6600 running neck-and-neck.

    But anyway, the e6600 is old and busted now. It's outperformed slightly by the e6750@$195. Across the Athlon X2 line, you're only saving $10-$25 over the nearest Intel equivalent.
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    They are neck-and-neck,... but the Core 2 Duo runs cooler, consumes less power, and overclocks better.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. lolerskates

    lolerskates New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already got my case, psu, and memory lol. I'm at the point for mobo and processor, I guess I'll have to do more pricing tonight
     
  11. lolerskates

    lolerskates New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what I thought, but on another board a guy was telling me just to buy a cheaper core 2 and over clock it
     
  12. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    It's easier and safer to overclock nowadays. It's like free performance.
    The Conroes, at stock speeds, are still half asleep. They're just begging to be overclocked.
     
  13. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    My E6600 runs at 3Ghz without any increase in voltage, I could push it higher but I am pretty sure I'll try to stick a quad core in there this winter once Peryn shows up.
     
  14. Skankin'

    Skankin' We are Ginger. We do not forgive. We do not forget

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    It all depends on your budget, but I would go C2D because you got enough money and you can overclock.
     

Share This Page