AMD Heatsink

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Claydus, Mar 10, 2003.

  1. Claydus

    Claydus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    8,786
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    i just bought a Gigabyte motherboard with a AMD 2200 that came with an AMD heatsink......... i installed the AMD chip and then began to put on my heatsink..... i noticed i needed to put some force into getting the sceond clip on..... is this normal i don't wanna ruin my processor or board?
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    the heaksink needs to be tightly bound to the cpu in order to conduct the maximum amound of heat from it. Just make sure you have plenty of room to work, and that when you're using the screwdriver to pull it down, you don't slip and stab your motherboard. ( like i did once :ugh: )
     
  3. itchiban

    itchiban Guest

    Haha, I've done that too. I didnt kill the mobo though, thankfully.
     
  4. Wakefield

    Wakefield Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    28,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KY
    :rofl:

    I was in the exact same spot you were in this weekend when putting my heatsink on. Just make sure you use a small enough screwdriver to fit inside the clip. I first used a big screwdriver thinking it would be better and almost nailed my motherboard when it slipped.
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    business opportunity: Rubber Bumper pads for motherboards :big grin:
     
  6. unrealii

    unrealii professor of plant biology

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So CALI
    I slipped while putting a heat sink on my mobo...F#@$@#$#@, then I realized that asus does put a small strip of clear plastic on that region:bigthumb:
     

Share This Page