AMD Duron 1.8Ghz

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Seluryar, Jul 10, 2005.

  1. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    Hello, I am looking to build/have a computer built sometime in the next 5 months, and a mobo I am looking at comes with an AMD Duron 1.8Ghz.

    I was wondering if this would be good for gaming, recording games with Fraps, and thats mostly it, If not, can someone recommend something below $200 ?

    I am mostly looking at tigerdirect.com as a friend has used them with no problems before.

    Is socket A type of Mobo any good, or should I look at something else, I want a mid-tower case, i am looking at a barebone kit. Thanks for the help in advance! :wavey:
     
  2. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
  3. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    for a budget machine, not bad. But you will want more ram.
     
  4. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    I am looking at atleast 1 gig og ram.

    Basicly, I want something that is equal or better than Pentium 4, I dont know whats out there tho :hs:
     
  5. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,479
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    IMO that is a POS

    That wont get anywhere near a current production P4.

    I think you will need to spend a bit more. Its going to cost $75 for the RAM alone. You need a hard drive and video card too.
     
  6. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    ok, but I know that these kits dont come with everything, but, I already have a 120mb external that can be made internal, but I dont know if it will work, I am open to ideas on the hard drive, 80gigs to 160 gigs please :wavey:, and now that I think of it, I might just go for a P4 or Celeron:

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1282983&CatId=333
    kit
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1109132
    CPU
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1064570&CatId=1716 x2
    Memory
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1440527&CatId=694
    vid card
    still looking for a dvd writer, possibly dual layer.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    P4 > AMD for what you want to do.

    get a seagate SATA hard drive.

    get a Sony or NEC Double Layer drive.

    That video card will not play modern games

    you need better memory. 2x512MB PC-3200 DDR Corsair ValueSelect will do nicely

    the p4mam is a crappy motherboard. Get something better. Such as an Intel D865PERLL or something of that sort.
     
  8. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    alright, i need some sleep for now, but check back here later today as I will make new choices, but a final question, what is better for gaming, P4 or Celeron?
     
  9. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,745
    Likes Received:
    2
    do not listen to the above poster. he just trolls this forum.
     
  10. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
  11. RealNyce

    RealNyce Mark Cuban cant buy a championship. Boo-fucking-ho

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    14,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil Out /soccer till 2010 :/
    If your gonna get a budget machine, consider at least a AMD 64 3000+ + mobo. Although the ECS mobo sucks, its still alot better than the Duron Combo.. :hsd: its only $160

    http://shop4.outpost.com/product/4465546

    Pick up at least 512mb Corsair Ram also. :o
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :ugh: do not do this.

    Get a case and mobo seperately. If you are going with an Intel Pentium 4 processor, then you should use a genuine-Intel motherboard. (D865PERLL, for example). You will NOT beat the reliability/stability of that combo. P4 3.0E is a good chip.

    You can get the mitsumi floppy/card-reader... It's a cool addition to any case. For you, I recommend the Antec Sonata. They are now coming with an Antec TruePower 2.0 380W Power Supply, which is fine for you.

    Then some Corsair ValueSelect 2x512MB PC-3200 (can be bought in kit-form for cheap)

    Finish it off with a Seagate SATA hard drive (between 80GB and 160GB in size)

    Don't forget your windows license!
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    This is the WORST ADVICE EVER!!!

    First of all, ECS :ugh2:

    Second of all, Fry's Electronics. ANY TIME. And I mean ***ANY*** TIME that you see a cpu/mobo combo at fry's that uses an ECS board, it's a guaranteed open box.
     
  14. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    all right, Ill look around some more.
    I am buying this stuff on a budget, right now, I only have $250, followed by $75-$100 a month after that. So it will take me a few months to get the stuff.
     
  15. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    Where can I find genuine Intel mobos?
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    www.newegg.com
     
  17. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    will this do?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813121252

    it says its got onboard graphics stuff, does this mean i can play withought getiing another vid card?

     
  18. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
  19. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that will not run BF2, no. You need a PCI-E video card, such as a 6600GT or 6800GT.

    As for mobo, that is a good board... but you need an LGA-775 CPU, then.
     
  21. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    oops, i used the worng link :mamoru:

    heres the vid card i was talkin about:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814164052
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ugh, that video card is a piece of shit.
     
  23. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    please note how I said I was limited to 50-75 dollars a month.

    if you'd like to find me a good card for under $75, be my guest.
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    maybe you don't get it... you CANT.

    Thats like saying "show me a good new car for $10k or less... Sure you can get a Kia, but that isn't good, now is it?
     
  25. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    ok, i dont really need it to play BF2, i need it for Flight Sim 2004, and my current 32 meg card can handle that good enough, But I want it to be better.
     

Share This Page