amd and intel equivalence

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by diaper eater, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. diaper eater

    diaper eater OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    mpls, minnesota
    what is the amd equivalent of a p4 3 ghz processor
     
  2. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    AMD changed their naming scheme a while back so that an XP 3200+ was supposed to be ~= to a 3200mhz Intel chip. However there are different versions of AMD's chips now so you have a 3200 Barton which is going to be faster then a 3200 Athlon because of the bigger on chip cache.

    More importantly why do you want to know? Just because or because you are looking to buy an AMD chip?
     
  3. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shit, do people still buy AMD non-AMD64 CPUs? (ie, not Athlon64)
     
  4. diaper eater

    diaper eater OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    mpls, minnesota
    well ive been lookin to get a new computer as of recently, and ive been out of the loop for computer specs for the past few years, since this rig held up for the gaming i was doing for quite some time. Right now im looking in this computer shopper magazine, and seeing those ads for the super ricey computers, and the amd setups that cost as much as the intel setups are quite different.

    for example, these two PCs cost about the same ~950

    Intel: 512mb ram, 256mb 6600 vid card. 3ghz p4
    AMD: 1gb ram, 128mb 6600GT vid card. Athlon 64 3000+

    so i was just wondering, if in fact these processors are parallels, does the intel simply require less ram, but more video processing capabilities? and vice versa for the amd?

    im actually considering buying one of these ricetastic rigs because i dont feel like dealing with choosing every single part, and putting it all together right now, and i got money to burn :hs:
     
  5. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    personally, id go with the AMD rig, but then again I would almost always.

    And those computers are definantly not parallels...

    For the most part look at ram as ram, the different processors use it slightly differently but not that much... so 512 < 1gb, big time.

    The video cards really don't depend on the processor all that much. So, if you are in it for gaming the graphics card is going to make the single greatest difference, then the amount of ram and lastly the actual processor type.

    Hope that helps a little.
     
  6. diaper eater

    diaper eater OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    mpls, minnesota
    so basically the amd is the better choice between those two?
     
  7. Wiggle

    Wiggle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach

Share This Page