Amd 3200+ 64bit VS Intell 3.2Ghz HT

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by XO, Sep 27, 2004.

  1. XO

    XO bee a honey

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    37,125
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Not*Cal
    Both come with decent MSI mainboards.

    Intel is $249
    AMD is $269
     
  2. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Athlon64 3200+ will wipe the floor with the Intel 3.2GHz. Its no contest.
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Fo sho.
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :werd:
     
  5. skooter

    skooter Guest


    :werd: :werd:
     
  6. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL...

    If it's the 512KB Northwood core... I had take the P4.

    Athlon64 does not have performance advantage in all areas... Personally I am an Intel guy...
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    you'd be crazy not to take the a64
     
  8. XO

    XO bee a honey

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    37,125
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Not*Cal
    :cool: the sale ended last night and I picked up the AMD before reading the replies (I made sure of the refund policy first). The MSI board it came with is pretty kick ass too :bigthumb:
     
  9. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    which board did you get with it? I just picked up almost the same system the other day. My board is the MSI K8 neo something? the one with the nforce 3 chipset :cool:
     
  10. XO

    XO bee a honey

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    37,125
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Not*Cal
    Same board :cool: I got them both for $269+tax
     
  11. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    sweet! Have you tried installing anything yet? I can't get XP 64 bit to work. I have access to longhorn and tried that as well with no success. Might just have to go 32 bit xp :sad2: Although, i may see if i can get my hands on my buddy's SuSE 9.1 disks, so i can try that :)
     
  12. XO

    XO bee a honey

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    37,125
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Not*Cal
    No I haven't even thought about it yet, I'll try building my pc today. What OS's support the 64 bit?
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    SuSE has had a 64-bit edition out since the Athlon64s came out :wiggle:
     
  14. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    But what is it good for?

    Don't get me wrong, my workstation runs SuSE as well. However, for a desktop, I had think that XP got better multimedia compatability. Sad but true. As for audio/video editing and MIDI sequencing says... XP and OS X still rules...
     
  15. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    For multimedia SuSE is just fine. Using either MPlayer for every type of video kicks the shit out of having to download WMP, RealPlayer, DivX and Quicktime. For video editing, yeah, I see where you're coming from, I haven't heard anything about Linux video editing programs. There are some audio editing and sequencing apps out there for Linux, not entirely sure how they stack up against their Mac/Windows counterparts though :dunno:
     
  16. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I have the same proc and board :coold:
     
  17. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i'm really close to having SuSE 9.1 Pro... I still can't get the 64 bit version of xp to install. I'm thinking it might be my vid card drivers, since it's an old card. (not going to move my good card over yet, until it's up and running, buy maybe it's worth a shot)
     
  18. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    what do you have installed as an OS?
     
  19. XO

    XO bee a honey

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    37,125
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Not*Cal
    I think I'm going to try it once I buy a new SATA drive. I have to get my files off of my current drive first so I can throw it in the playstation :bigthumb:
     
  20. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    :werd: :werd: :werd:
     
  21. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    Would you happen to have the link to these sales? I know you said that they ended, but I just want to see the motherboard and processor combos. I'd like to see what I missed out on.
     
  22. XO

    XO bee a honey

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    37,125
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Not*Cal
    I'd link you to newegg.com but that sites been down all week. This is the best I can do:


    AMD http://www.netaffilia.com/ad/electronics/frys/i/2004/09/24/6039.html

    INTEL http://www.netaffilia.com/ad/electronics/frys/i/2004/09/24/6012.html

    Note: The Intel price is for the crap ECS board. They had another promo running with the MSI board which cost about $49 more. Also I think I have a different MSI board than the link pictures in the AMD link.
     
  23. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,798
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Newegg is up for me.
     
  24. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    ahhhh, finally got WinXP 64bit to install... I had bought a bad memory stick it appears. Damn cheap memory :mad: time to take it back
     
  25. XO

    XO bee a honey

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    37,125
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Not*Cal
    Is the WinXP 64bit their pre-release or do they have a official version yet?
     

Share This Page