MMA Am I sandbagging?

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by Bausk, Jun 16, 2008.

1. Bausk

Bausk New Member

I've been grappling for about 3+ years, very on and off mostly all no-gi. In the last year I've actually started taking BJJ seriously and only in the last 6 months has my school had a true curriculum for testing stripes/belts. The first time I tested I went straight to 4 stripes White. This past weekend (3 months later) I could have tested for my Blue and easily gotten it, but I decided not to.

I have fought once in MMA, constantly roll and do ok/well against other Blue, Purple, and decent against the Brown belt at our school (I don't submit him obviously but can at least survive a lot of the time). I have never competed in BJJ or No-Gi grappling. I want to do at least 1 competition at White belt before testing for my Blue to see how I do and how I compare. It's also hard because there is usually about 2 grappling tournaments all year in Michigan.

I've never really taken my grappling seriously until this past 6-12 months, and I never cared about my rank. But now it feels like I'm going from 1 stripe to a Blue Belt in "6 months". I already made my decision, I just want some feedback from my Cage BRO'S.

2. Sylva

Sylva New Member

I think you'll be surprised at how different competition is vs. gym training.

3. Bausk

Bausk New Member

Like how (in your experience)? I have no idea other than when I fought MMA, and I'm sure grappling is different obviously. Which is why I want to compete. The other guys at my gym who compete semi regularly say I should just compete at Blue Belt based on when they roll with me, and they would know. But I want to do 1 at White, at least. :hs:

4. checkii

checkii ฝรั่งตาน้ำข้าว

I wouldnt say its sandbagging. Sandbagging you are going in knowing you are far more skilled and experienced and are doing it to get an easy win. Sounds like you are doing this more so to see where you are at and test yourself.