SRS Always tired, sleeping aid not working

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Paulie Walnuts, Jul 6, 2005.

1. Paulie Walnuts

Paulie Walnuts Im an agent of chaos

Hello everyone! Looking for advice without going to the Dr yet from those who may have perhaps had a similar experience.

I have been taking ambien to help me sleep now for about 3 years. Now all of a sudden I am waking up in the middle of the night wired. I go to bed around 11 and get up around 6:30-7 I wake up around 3am usually to pee as I drink a ton of liquids, then I cannot go to sleep for another hour or so.

I get to work and I am a zombie. Right now I am having a hard time staying awake. I will go home after work and crah for two hours then get up and eat and work some more.

It sucks man, I would give just about anything to sleep without an aid, what should I do?

No I havent been to the Dr yet and no I do not have sleep apnea.

2. Eris

Eris Yes please

Well the chances are since you've been taking Ambien for a long period of time you're body is building up a tolerance.

I go back and forth with insomnia and I've never seen a doctor about it. I know everyone is different so not all remedies will work for you.

For me I try and keep a regular sleep cycle. Try not to do too many activites in bed (no not that LOL) like read or watch TV. Because you're body no longer associates laying in bed with sleep.

Napping is good .. by try maybe cutting it down to a power nap like 30 mintues or so. Also light exercise, meditation, or try reading before bed. Tryand make sure you've got a clear head as thinking will keep you awake.

Try not to lay in bed if you're not tired enough to fall asleep. Get up and read or watch TV until you're at the sleepy stage.

Hm, that's about all I can really offer. I aslo took Melatonin for a while. It's an herbal supplement that people use for jetlag and such. Worked for both myself and my ex.

Hope some of this was helpful ....

3. Eris

Eris Yes please