All rotaries created equal?

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by jsilas, Jun 23, 2009.

1. jsilas

jsilas OT Supporter

I am in the market for a rotary polisher. I've been using a random orbital from Griot's Garage for a few years now, and I'm just not able to get the correction that I want out of it.

My question is two-fold:

First, are these rotary polishers largely created equal? I know there are a few brands out there, and I want to get something good and reliable without breaking the bank. This will be for my personal use, not professional.

Second, where should I purchase? I know there are literally dozens of recommended online supply retailers, and there's tons of local places too. Where should I purchase?

Thanks in advance all...

:wavey:

2. Morgan06

Morgan06 New Member

Dewalt vs Makita are essentially the same in quality. Some people purchase based on design, a few by brand loyalty and others by the difference in weight. I've had both, both wear out with professional use, both can sustain being dropped/kicked, both can produce the same results.

If you aren't using it every day I don't think the lb or so extra will affect you. My advice would be to get both in your hands and see which you prefer according to comfort, or just decide between teal or yellow.

3. Scottwax

Scottwax Making detailing great again! Moderator

A Dewalt is probably the most heavy duty rotary on the market but some people like the lighter weight of the Makita, Flex and Metabo.

4. jsilas

jsilas OT Supporter

Awesome, thanks guys. I'm not familiar with Flex or Metabo - I'll do some reading. Super-heavy-duty isn't that important as I'm just using the unit for my car, my wife's car, and the occasional neighbor, friend, or family member.

Any thoughts on my second question about where to purchase?

5. Morgan06

Morgan06 New Member