"All Programs" will not expand

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by elevator, Jun 4, 2007.

  1. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    When will it end...

    I run Windows XP Pro SP2 on this computer I just built. When I go to start, then "All Programs", the menu doesn't pop up. There are shortcuts in the folder. I had just installed MSOffice, Filemaker, Adobe Reader, and the chipset for the motherboard... Any thoughts?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Right click start button > start menu tab > Make sure the "Start menu button is selected, and not the
    "Classic Start menu" button > advanced tab >
    Make sure there's a check mark in the "Open submenus when I pause on them with my mouse"










    .
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2007
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Start > control panel > select "Switch to classic view" > then open up folder options >
    general tab > Now select "use windows classic folders" >
    Apply and exit.
     
  4. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    Check, but still no cigar...
     
  5. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    still no ideas?
     
  6. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you see in "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\" and "C:\Documents and Settings\insertUserNameHere\Start Menu\" ?
     
  7. tryfuhl

    tryfuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    75,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MD/DC Metro
  8. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    In All Users, I see Programs folder and an Administrative tools folder (both empty). In the username, I see Program folder with all the shortcuts I expected to be inside of it, but they dont show on the start menu.
     
  9. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    :wtc: xp mysteries
     
  10. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it happen with all your users? If you have only one user create another one and test it out.
     
  11. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    all users ahve the same problemo
     
  12. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    bumping this thread from a few months ago...

    anyone experienced this?
     

Share This Page