SRS Alcohol problem or not?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Grok1122, Apr 1, 2010.

1. Grok1122

Grok1122 New Member

Posting this here and not on the road to recovery because:

1: I am not on said road.
    2: I am an ignorant noob.

Here is the situation:

I've been an insomniac all my life, it runs in my family, and has plagued me since elementary. For the past eight years of my life, so pretty much since junior year of high school, I have essentially drank myself to sleep. On average I have what probably equates to 4-8 drinks a night. Usually hard liquor, bourbon, or gin and tonic, etc... When I say I have 4-8 drinks a night, it is usually "two drinks" but we're talking about 6-12oz of alcohol (naturally over such an extended period of time it varies greatly).

I've had a pretty good life over this same period. Did pretty well in college, got an MBA, a great job, I have a great relationship with my family, good friends, etc... There are some downsides to my life but no one is perfect. Honestly I'm pretty contented.

I have no health problems that I am aware of (physically that is, obviously the insomnia is a sign of something). I have never shown up to work legitimately hungover. Never done anything I really regret while drinking. All in all the alcohol has never really gotten in the way of me having a good life.

So here's the question, do I have a drinking 'problem' or not?

2. erynne936

erynne936 my av is a car, but i'm a girl. stop calling me b OT Supporter

Yes, drinking problem.