Airport Setup v.WepKey

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kamikaze, Mar 8, 2007.

  1. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    Is there anyway to tell Mac OS to use key index 3 from a linksys router, or will it only use key 1?
     
  2. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    They both have to use the same one.

    First you set which key your Linksys will use:
    [​IMG]

    Then you set the same WEP key on your computer...and it doesn't care if it's 1, 2, 3 or 4
     
  3. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    I'm aware of that.

    Let me re-phrase the question...

    A friend of mine has a linksys router that he's locked down with a WEP key. In the router setup, he uses key 3. In the wireless setup on my mb, there's no option to select key index so even tho I've got the right key, it's not the right index and so it won't connect to the router. Apparently, osx will only use key 1 (or so he says) and i'd like to believe otherwise. XP on bootcamp works fine cause I can select what key index to use.
     
  4. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I have to be honest, I never tried it on my mini, and now I see that it doesn't work.

    A little research shows that it's not possible to use key indexes 2 - 4, because the mac os x software is hard coded for index 1.

    That sucks.
     
  5. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    damn right it sucks. Apple managed to get the rest of the OS right, why not this??
     
  6. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    What's the reason for using 4 different keys?
     
  7. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    i guess because most people just use key 1 on the router so if you don't know any better even if you have the wep key if it's not the right index it won't work.
     

Share This Page