Airport Express worth it?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Yardsale, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    My POS linksys crapped out on me :wtc::wtc::wtc::wtc:
     
  2. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get the Airport Extreme, plugging in external HD's to make them network file servers ftw

    :bowdown:
     
  3. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    100 bucks vs. 40 netgear at best buy :dunno:
     
  4. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    oh snap! file servers for my movies :eek4::eek4:
     
  5. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    it was my linksys that crapped out :mad:

    netgear better?
     
  6. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also daisy chain multiple HD's using a USB hub attached to it.

    :noes:
     
  7. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    it looks nicer and works pretty damn good. And it's white so it matches my iMac :o
     
  8. newsroom_can

    newsroom_can Canada eh?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    17,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    So you can use USB hub to link a printer and multiple HDs at the same time? :noes:
     
  9. newsroom_can

    newsroom_can Canada eh?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    17,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Oh and I have Airport Express and it was worth every penny.
     
  10. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Magic 8 Ball says Yes.

    :noes:
     
  11. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    yeah, express is the tits. remote control of an amp ftw
     
  12. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    sounds like an express is all i need. extreme would be so tight though :o
     
  13. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used an express as my main router before I got the extreme. It pumped 20 megabits of internet speed over wifi. (I have insanely fast cable service.) Most cheapos can'ty handle that fast on the WAN port, so I was impressed this little guy did.
     
  14. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't live in regret. I have an Express for wifi + Airtunes, but still want an Extreme for the Network features. :embd:
     
  15. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    i use both in my house, good connection everywhere, 2hdd's and 2 printers+airtunes FTW!
     
  16. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do the external HD's always stay on? Or do they turn off when not in use?

    Also, where do you have the Extreme + HD's in the house? :)
     
  17. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Not directed at me, but I'll answer too. My HD spins down and goes into standby. If I haven't used it in a while it takes a few seconds to wake. It always stays mounted on my Desktop though, whether it's on or off. It's also mounted under the /Volumes directory in Terminal. My HD and extreme are right next to my modded xbox on my entertainment shelf. :bigthumb:
     
  18. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    USB2 drive connection... slow.

    Don't plan on stream editing/playing video...
     
  19. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    USB2 is plenty fast for streaming video. The Xbox360 uses USB2 to connect the HD-DVD drive to the main unit. Editing video might be painful, but playback should be no problem.
     
  20. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you stream any video from your external HD to your xbox?
     
  21. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yep, all the time. I don't even have cable; I just dl the shows I like. That's actually why I got the Extreme, so that I wouldn't have to keep a PC on 24/7 to serve my media. I save about $10-15 per month in electricity this way.

    I also just keep my music on that drive and set iTunes on my Macbook to have the folder on the shared drive be my music folder. Clears up 30 gigs on my Macbook and allows me to stream my music collection to my stereo via the Xbox. I can also stream video podcasts onto the TV since my Macbook automatically downloads them to the shared drive.
     
  22. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah, sorry, that's not at all accurate information. I stream everything onto my Xbox with this setup. The only things local on the Xbox are roms.
     
  23. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    what's the config like on the extreme? I have a brand new WRT54GL running DDWRT. Will it allow you to forward ports and such fairly easily? I also have a PPTP vpn server behind my Linksys, so it has to support that as well.
     
  24. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn, I'm REALLY tempted now. I already have 1 WD 500GB MyBook and use it as a backup. Purchasing a second and using it as my iTunes library would be SWEET. I'd continue using the 1st external as a remote backup, and the 2nd will be used as a mirror + iTunes library + movies/vids.

    :noes:
     
  25. newsroom_can

    newsroom_can Canada eh?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    17,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Now, I am so tempted to buy one. :noes:
     

Share This Page