MIL Air Force recruit

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Shockticus, Feb 4, 2008.

1. Shockticus

Shockticus I remember having one more drink at the bar... OT Supporter

I'm in the recruitment process of the Air Force right now. The recruiter wants me to lose 15 more pounds and once I do then I'll retake the ASVAB (took it almost 5 years ago as a junior in HS, scored a 93). I'm 21 (in a couple weeks) now and have been wanting to join for a long time now. Any tips or suggestions as to what MOS I should look into? I'm studying for the ASVAB this time, so I should score above the 93 I got the first time, so I should be able to have virtually a free choice as to what job.

2. RedBull

RedBull New Member

Take the practice ASVAB on military.com a few times to see what areas you are weak in and buy an ASVAB study guide at Barnes & Noble and read up on those areas.

As for your job, it just depends on what your interested in as a civilian. I liked working on mechanical shit, so now I'm a maintainer on F100 engines (got a 97 on the ASVAB) but there are many jobs out there. If you can learn a language really fast, volunteer to take the D-LAB and get over 100 points on it (out of 120pts) and you can opt to be a linguist, which are pretty cushy jobs with a nice sign on bonus with a lot of TDY. If you are interested in that route, let me know and I can give you some pointers on the test.

Just don't sign shit until everything you want/is promised you is on that paper...or series of papers

3. Zee

Zee New Member

My oldest daughter is in Air Force Basic right now....a couple of things

1.) get in shape, they run 2mi a day plus 50 or so Pushups and crunches

2.) Be prepared to get yelled at as soon as you reach the reception area at the airport

3.) she told us that she was up damned near 3 days with about 3 hrs of sleep each day the first three days, no being to do the basic hygene items (Shower, Shave or brush her teeth) all in an effort to break the will of the recruits