AIM problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheKrazyRaven, Aug 13, 2003.

  1. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    i've had the same screen name for years and everyone knows me on that name well I CANT SIGN ON! WTF?

    its just that one name last night (monday aug 11th) i rebooted

    i come back and i cant sign on, it hangs on step 2 and after about a min i get "connection lost"

    now heres the wack part, i can sign on with other screen names through the same installed AIM

    and i can sign onto my usual screen name (the one in question) using AIM express
     
  2. Altair

    Altair Guest

    AIm wouldnt let me connect earlier. Seems the server was having problems. Does it work now? Mine just started working.
     
  3. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    no still wont lemme get on "TheKrazyRaven" it has no problem letting me get onto my other names
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Maybe someone changed your password :o
     
  5. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    i'm gonna uninstall my network card then reinstall it and see it that helps
     
  6. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    christ this is so agrivating
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Seriously, if it's only the one account that doesn't work and other ones do, it's probably a problem with your password or account.
     
  8. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    thats the strange part, i can sign on with that name and passowrd on AIM express and it logs onto the same servers :dunno:
     
  9. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    what part does it get to, i might just kno whats wrong

    i had problems with the aim client in the past and thats why i now use trillian
    it seems to have way less problems
     
  10. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    step 2

    i stried getting on with trillian but same shit
     
  11. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
  12. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Hmm... Its definitely not a hardware issue. You said you can log in with another account. That means your hardware can do it. It also means your network can do it. You can log in from Aim Express so that would mean you know your user/password combo. Have you tried connecting via the AIM client on another computer? Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the AIM client? If you're still having problems, I might recommend taking this up with AOL...
     
  13. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    yeah i can long on on another PC



    i talked to someone tonight and he said unistall then go into the reg and delete everything that has to do with AIM or AOL then reinstall
     
  14. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    ha
    i bet i kno what it just might be
    ur comp (probably aims fault) most likely glitched and (if your password is stored) it probably cahnged the encrypted data it sends at login(your password)
    there for you can log on at other peoples houses but not yours
    if this is the case just dont save your password sign on then resave it
     
  15. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    thats not it, becaue it just stalls it dont give me a "password incorrect"


    UPDATE: now i cant sign onto any screen name through this PC on regular AIM, it just stops on step 2, then after a min i get "connection lost" :wtf:

    i went into the regristry and deleted everything that had to do with AIM or AOL and same shit
     
  16. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    I'd stop banging your head and just contact AOL/AIM and ask them whats up.
     
  17. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    its my computer not them though

    and from my old AOL days i know how horrable their customer service is
     
  18. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Its their software on your computer. Yes, your computer is having issues, but maybe they've seen this before and have a tweek or something you can do to fix it.
     
  19. el gayvo

    el gayvo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    81,542
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca
    download a different version of aim (like an earlier version)
     
  20. TheKrazyRaven

    TheKrazyRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, Mass
    tired that too
     
  21. Maud'dib

    Maud'dib It's always summer on the inside...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UC Los Angeles Hometown: San Diego,
    Weird. Last night, I was signed on AIM, but when my brother tried to sign on "DeadAIM", it said that it couldn't connect to the AIM server....but i was connected. None of his names worked.
     

Share This Page