AIM new release bloatware?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Das_Ubermensch, Feb 14, 2004.

  1. Das_Ubermensch

    Das_Ubermensch OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,559
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fuck you CITY
    Just downloaded the new version of AIM and it is a pig! Uses more resources even when minimized to the tray than 2 windows of IE! Its using about 44,980k on my system. WTF! Anyoe else's AIM doing this? I am about to revert to the old version.
     
  2. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51,027
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    mine uses about 20mb of ram i think
     
  3. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Trillian 2.0 is using 7mb right now :fawk:
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    6.6mb here :fawk:

    and im on MSN, ICQ, AOL and have some plugins going too :big grin: :bowdown:
     
  5. Scn64

    Scn64 Guest

    My AIM (new version) is only using 3.3MB ATM.
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,617
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Bah, I just go to oldversion.com and get some old release and the free version of deadaim that works with it. :big grin: I tried trillian, never liked it much. :dunno:
     

Share This Page