Aim buddy groups on Ichat

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MichiRaces2Much, Oct 1, 2004.

  1. MichiRaces2Much

    MichiRaces2Much My sorority is cooler then your sorority.

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MD
    I just got a Powerbook G4 tonight(see: "I went out for a gallon..." thread) so I'm new to this so forgive my lack of knowledge. I was curious, is there a way to organize your buddies into groups on Ichat like a normal PC using AIM would have? Thanks!
     
  2. jabbadeznuts

    jabbadeznuts ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    You'll find that Adium (http://www.adiumx.com) is a MUCh better client than iChat.



    But to answer your question, no, I don't know
     
  3. MichiRaces2Much

    MichiRaces2Much My sorority is cooler then your sorority.

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MD
  4. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    Bah, I want an answer to the question if it exists vs just trying out a Beta.
     
  5. dmora

    dmora Guest

    yea there is.
    View > Show Groups
     
  6. MichiRaces2Much

    MichiRaces2Much My sorority is cooler then your sorority.

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MD
    Yeah thats not what I meant. On Aim your buddy list is shown as having a group like "family" and then all the family members are listed then the next group is shown and all their members, View->Groups just shows the groups name on a side bar its not the same :)
     
  7. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    Negative. We're looking to see the buddies divided into their groups on screen.
     
  8. dmora

    dmora Guest

    it wont do it all in one window.
     
  9. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    That's gay. Not a big set back but an overlooked detail. Besides that and the one fucking button mouse and no scroll wheel, I love my new mac.
     
  10. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    A word of caution... In my experience, iChat does not play nice with AIM buddy groups. When you add a new buddy or rename an existing one (even setting an alias), I believe it will add this buddy to all of your AIM buddy groups. Or something like that. If you search google for "feedbag error" you will find some discussions on it.

    I like iChat, so I used the AOL AIM client to remove all of my goups except for the default group, and everything works fine now.
     
  11. Kelvin96GSR

    Kelvin96GSR OEM>YOU

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    32,938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Fire>adium>ichat
     

Share This Page