AIM at work.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by naerok, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. naerok

    naerok Guest

    anyone know a way to get AIM to work at work? im using aim express and i dont like it. any help would be appreciated. im a domain admin, so i have access to change any configurations on my laptop.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    is it their policy to not allow TCP:5150?
     
  3. CastorTroy

    CastorTroy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anytown, USA
    Check local firewall (if any) settings. If AIM fails to connect while on the network at work, then its likely blocked via their firewall, in which case you need to make friends with the net/sys admin.
     
  4. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    any way around the firewall issue?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no.. stop being a faggot employee and do work.
     
  6. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Try using Trillian or another IM program that will let you talk to all your AIM friends. When my GF had problems with AIM, i told her to use trillian, and everything connected and worked first time. We can't direct connect through AIM, never works, with trillian i click connect and boom its connected and we swap files all day.

    AIM is shit, and all those "deadaim" or "middleman" programs that claim to fix it just bloat it. try another program.
     
  7. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Diego
    Personally for an IM client that seems to do real well with firewalls try Hello :) It's by google and picassa actually allows pictures and other files to be transfered very easily also.
     
  8. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Use an ssh tunnel to your machine at home... with ssh you can tunnel anything you want.
     
  9. naerok

    naerok Guest

    This worked. Thank you for your help
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    where do you work? And what's your name?
     
  11. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    haha...McDonalds, John Doe :)
     
  12. james99654

    james99654 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    no kidding. what a novel thought, being PRODUCTIVE at your job...
     
  13. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    This might be an easier way to do it: setup your aim client to mingle on port 80 instead of 5150 (or whatever its set to). If port 80 doesn't work, try some other ones. Aim servers listen to all ports. Granted, if they have a heavy duty firewall, this may still not work. But if it does, it may be easier than dealing with SSH tunnels.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    lmao...yeah, get your work done and go home early instead of wasting time online.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose it's none of my business, but surely you could meet your chippy in person instead of chatting on AIM?
     
  16. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    not everyday. i jsut moved to Frisco, she lives in Lewisville, its about a 30min. drive even if you take the toll-way (fastest route usuallly) I see her weekends and on Tuesdays, and when school starts it will just be weekends. but Christmas i get a car hopefully so if i can pay for gas then i can go whenever i want :)

    im leaving for detroit in a few hours!!:eek3: wont see her till friday/saturday. :wtc:
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heh. I figured you were going to jump on my ass. Thanks for the measured response.
     
  18. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    lmao i just got home from detroit. we drove home 1234.9 miles !!!:eek3: gotta go return the rental now. u know they charged my dad close to $500 for a 2 day rental?!?! so dumb.
     
  19. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried aim express?
    It might work and it would be a bit easier.
     
  20. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin

    i will try it
     

Share This Page