After the free mail in upgrade from 64-bit Vista to 64-bit 7, is Vista still legal?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheOutlawTorn, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. TheOutlawTorn

    TheOutlawTorn New Consequence Machine

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denial
    After the upgrade I was curious, my laptop is 64-bit compatible and I could finally utilize all the RAM I installed it it...I don't see why it wouldn't be, and I tried google, and I tried asking Microsoft but since it's OEM they want to charge me...bastards..
     
  2. thekraft

    thekraft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't understand what your question is...
     
  3. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    You want to go back to Vista?

    Yeah sure. No problem.
     
  4. TheOutlawTorn

    TheOutlawTorn New Consequence Machine

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denial
    Christ. I read that just now. Sorry. I was up all night when I posted it. I'll clarify:

    I purchased a copy of Vista 64 bit with the free upgrade to 7 64 bit.

    I upgraded the machine I had Vista on. Well, upgrade is a strong word, I did a full wipe and install.

    I was curious to see if I could use my copy of Vista on my laptop. If the product key was still valid or was it "deactivated" or something since I did the upgrade to 7.
     
  5. thekraft

    thekraft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd imagine you'd be good to go, or at least, as good as you could be with Vista.
     
  6. TheOutlawTorn

    TheOutlawTorn New Consequence Machine

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denial
    :rofl::werd:

    I got it just sitting there and my laptop has 32 bit vista and I want to be able to access the full amount of ram I installed on it.


    Or I could just buy a copy of 7 at the student price.....:o
     
  7. thekraft

    thekraft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd get Win 7, but that's me.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    An OEM copy of Windows cannot be transferred to another computer. So if you had Vista OEM and upgraded to 7 on a desktop, that Vista can no longer be used.
     
  9. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done this.
     
  10. Fase

    Fase Your Face, In A Pickle Jar.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ont, Canada.
    Still valid
     

Share This Page