After a power outage, I lost the volume icon in the taskbar

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Nick Gerz, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. Nick Gerz

    Nick Gerz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    113,878
    Likes Received:
    352
    How do I get it back?

    :wtc:


    Vista.
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Look in the Control Panel for Taskbar and Start Menu, then the Notification Area tab. You should see system icons.
     
  3. Nick Gerz

    Nick Gerz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    113,878
    Likes Received:
    352
    [​IMG]


    Won't let me check volume.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    thats strange, is the sound hardware enabled?
     
  5. Nick Gerz

    Nick Gerz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    113,878
    Likes Received:
    352
    I have sound.

    :hsd:

    Just have to control it from my keyboard, and it is kinda of a touch thingy no actual key or knob.
     
  6. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    the other day I unknowingly built up some static electricity and when I touched my computer mouse I killed it :hs:
     
  7. Nick Gerz

    Nick Gerz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    113,878
    Likes Received:
    352
  8. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Right click on your taskbar and select Properties. Under the Notification Area tab should be some checkboxes for what you want displayed there (Clock, Volume, Network, Power, etc).

    See if Power is unchecked.
     
  9. pbcustom98

    pbcustom98 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at a theater near you!
    he posted a picture that shows what is checked and unchecked.
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Have you tried to uninstall/reinstall the sound drivers?
     
  11. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    This. Sounds like driver corruption.. since the system was unsafely shutdown probably have to remove the sound devices and start over so it can refresh.
     
  12. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ah I see it now. I posted from work and the image host was blocked.
     

Share This Page