MIL Aerospace Engineering careers in the Military?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Morton, Aug 20, 2005.

1. Morton

Morton New Member

Ok, I don't post here much, but I am a cadet in Army ROTC at an engineering school. I am majoring in Aerospace Engineering and was wondering what active army career choices I had in the aerospace field. I checked on goarmy link posted above, and the only Engineering Officer spots listed were combat, construction, and topographic engineer officers. Are these the only jobs open to engineers, or are there other spots, like aircraft design? I don't want to get an AE degree and never use it.

2. Ranger-AO

Ranger-AO I'm here for the Taliban party. Moderator

Split off from the Military FAQ thread.

3. aphoric

aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

I don't think any branches of service do their own engineering anymore. Most of the AE guys I have worked with became software engineers.

4. Ranger-AO

I wouldn't think the Army would have a lot of use for an aerospace engineer. :dunno:

Have you thought of the Air Force, Navy or Marines? (in that order)

5. spades

spades George P. Burdell II

The AF has a place for you. I have a B.S. in Aerospace Engineering and my career field is 62E - Developmental Engineering. There are multiple things that you can do as an Engineer in the AF. You can do test and evaluation, work in the research lab, become a program manager, get your master's, get your PhD, teach at the academy, and numerous other jobs. Right now I'm getting my master's degree and my follow-on assignment is to become a program manager.