Advice on detailing C6 Z06

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by JHN272, May 22, 2009.

1. JHN272

JHN272 OT Supporter

Got this car last fall, a black 2006 C6 Z06. Didn't get to drive it much before winter hit. Planned on detailing it and got some stuff together based on a friend's advice. Basically, I'm a noob and I'm not seeing what I want to see...just need some help.

PC buffer, 6.5 pads (2 orange, 2 white, 2 black, 2 blue), poorboy's SSR1 polish, meguiars #7 glaze, NXT tech wax, natty's paste (blue)...and mother's clay kit.

Washed it, and then went over it with the clay and quick detailer.

I polished with the SSR1, but it didn't remove ALL the fine visible scratches. I was applying evenly on the pad, spreading out 2x2 area, starting at 2 and then going to 4. Then, passed over it slowly 3 times and then removed with a microfiber towel. Friend told me to relax, that the next stages will fill in some too.

Then I used the #7 glaze in just about the same fashion as I did the polish. It was tougher to remove, but I did the whole car.

Then, I applied the NXT wax. Put around pad, spread out, and just did speed 4. It came off easily, and It looks OK. Just not deep and glossy...and there are these barely visible waffle marks on it...no idea what those are from or what caused it.

Pulled it out into the sun and could really notice the waffling. :eek4:

I can take pics if I need to...

Should I start over? Should I apply the natty's paste? Help.:o

I really wanted to get the car out this weekend, but I can keep it in and redo everything if I need to. From what I've read in the stickies, the products I'm using aren't exactly the ones of choice for OT. I've seen a C6 Z on here, hopefully someone who's done a few can advise me.

2. Scottwax

Scottwax Making detailing great again! Moderator

Did you not see the write-up on the TT Z06 I did? Should be right above or below your thread. Rotary is your friend.

3. JHN272

JHN272 OT Supporter