A&P Advice needed, possible wedding photography

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by mrduke, Jun 15, 2009.

1. mrduke

mrduke OT Supporter

Two of my friends are getting married in September and he approached me the other night about taking pics at their wedding. It's going to be a small wedding and they're on a budget so it's nothing extravagant. I've never done anything 'professional' before and definitely never anything like a wedding, but I do know how to take a picture and I feel like I could probably read 15 wedding EDUs and get some decent captures. I don't even know how much wedding photogs charge or anything about prints/etc after the fact :o

Too much for a relative noob, or would you guys take on something like this?

2. johan

johan Active Member

post up some of your recent people shots aka portraits, before we get into the logistics of running a decent wedding shoot.

3. Snowballer

Snowballer - Blissfully Insane -

Are you planning on making money off of your friend?

4. IntheWorks

IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

if they're close friends you have to ask yourself if your prepared to possibly jeopardize your friendship. if they're just acquaintences, go for it, don't do it for free, but don't charge them much because chances are you're going to fuck something up. People think shooting a wedding is easy, but it's not.

5. mrduke

mrduke OT Supporter

I wasn't thinking about turning a profit, no. He offered to pay for my hotel room during the stay, or whatever I thought it should cost. I told him we'd talk about it later (ie. after I asked OTAP)
    Not super close but I've known them for a while. I know it's not easy which is why I'm asking here. Basically I want to know, is it possible to shoot a wedding for the first time on your own and come away with enough good photos/the 'right' photos, or should I follow someone around the first time?

6. mrduke

mrduke OT Supporter