Advice needed about re-injecting some excitement and passion

Discussion in 'Vaginarium' started by Marix, Jul 3, 2008.

1. Marix

Marix OT Supporter

Long story short:
    I'm 22, she's 25
    Been together for 4 years
    Living together for 2 years

We love each other a lot but over the last year or so we have slowly become more like best friends/flatmates rather than girlfriend/boyfriend.

I'm a med student and she is working full time. I go through period of being hectic busy (around exams etc) and then periods of having long breaks (i.e. over summer, christmas etc.)

Basically, a year ago she told me that she was missing the passion that we had at the start of our relationship. She said she misses the excitement or waiting for my calls or text messages. At the time I was in a busy period and sort of shrugged it off, saying we could work on it.

However, it's now a year later and things haven't really changed. I realise that I haven't really been the best boyfriend in lots of ways. I'm so busy for some times that I don't have time to do anything... and then I just crash and relax during the "off time." I sit on my PC, surf OT, watch TV, play xbox etc. I can't think of the last time I did something nice for her just because she is my girlfriend.

On Monday she told me that she's not even sure if she's in love with me any more. This really devestated me because I'll admit, I took her for granted and never thought I'd hear her say that. I now look back and think of all the times when I've been too lazy to go and pick her up from work or to treat her to spontaneous nice things.

I feel incredibly guilty for not being a better boyfriend and I feel terrible that it has come to this point before I realised that she felt neglected. I completely understand why she feels the way she feels and I'm gutted that I didn't realise sooner.