Advantage of dual NIC cards?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by georgexi, Jul 29, 2005.

  1. georgexi

    georgexi o.O OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    If you only have one hub that all your other networked computers connect to, is there any benefit to hooking up both NICs to the same hub? I can see the use for dual NICs in the case of two independent hubs but what about only one hub?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    in a hub? no. In a switch, yes. And only if you have at least 2 more NICS (don't have to be in the same computer) also hooked up
     
  3. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    thanks for the explanation of how this would work.
     
  4. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    I see no real benefit, unless you can somehow load balance the two network cards on the same network (not sure how).

    OTHERWISE

    the only thing it would be good for is routing between two networks, which I would be able to describe. if you really want to know how to do this - pm me.
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    If you have an OS and a switch that both support it, you can bind the two NICs together to act as one interface with twice as much bandwidth. Like I said though, the switch has to support it as well, so you're probably looking at an expensive managed switch to really make use of it.
     
  6. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    what would this feature be known as on a switch?
     
  7. huntz0r

    huntz0r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Put it this way... it would be much cheaper and easier to just buy a gigabit switch and NIC than to buy a managed switch to do what you are talking about. And faster to boot.
     
  8. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    put it this way... its NIC, not NIC card.
     
  9. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    but you knew what he was talking about.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I forget what it's actually called in the OS. I played with it under Linux at our last Installfest in April. It was very cool. The switch was a managed Cisco, not cheap stuff.

    And this, or buying a gigabit network, is way overkill for home network use. Unless you're doing some serious transfers between computers on your own network, you're not going to see any advantage in setting up a gigabit network or using chained-together NICs. Even the fastest consumer internet has a theoretical downstream max of 7 or 10 megabits, so a 100 megabit ethernet card and 100 megabit switches are going to handle that just fine.
     
  11. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    i realize that.
     
  12. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,484
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    I have two NICs teamed on my server with a standard consumer grade 10/100 switch. No special features on the switch are required, the NICs just need to support teaming. Most workstation NICs dont. If you're talking of dual onboard NICs, most of the time the two NICs use different chipsets and probably wont be able to be teamed even if both supported teaming.
     
  13. CastorTroy

    CastorTroy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anytown, USA
    The OS on the machine they are in, and the switch/router/etc has to support it. The NIC's themselves don't matter. And it's called dual or multi-homing. It's a complex setup that is really only usefull for servers that require redundency, or multiple available paths. My server at home is multihomed to two different switches to help reduce slow transfers when multiple clients are active.

    In short, if you don't know how to multihome, then you don't need it :)
     
  14. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Cisco calls it Etherchannel.
     
  15. georgexi

    georgexi o.O OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    my bad. I normally say either NIC or net card.. dunno why I said NIC card.. :)

    anyway thanks for the responses guys. i'm just gonna hook up one NIC to the switch.
     
  16. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    So now it's a switch?
     
  17. georgexi

    georgexi o.O OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    yeah its a switch. we use "the switch" and "the hub" interchangably here. but either way the general consensus seems to be dual NICs wont help performance.
     
  18. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You'll find more success with a gigabit connection to a switch - the other ports don't have to be gigabit to take advantage of it.
     
  19. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    The connection will be as slow as your uplink

    So if your uplink is 100mb, having a 200mb connection will still stick you to 100mb throughput.
     
  20. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    You can host a server and connect to another server that way.
     

Share This Page