Adobe Photoshop CS2 sucks

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by P07r0457, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Well, Adobe kept making photoshop better up till version 7.0. After that, CS and CS2 have SUCKED BIG FLOPPY DONKEY DICK. Some how, CS2 is eating 1.84GB of RAM right now... If I open the SAME file in 7.0, it eats 520MB... What the fuck?

    I want my fucking money back... But I know dem bastards won't give me a refund. /me shakes fist in air.
     
  2. MrFaldyn

    MrFaldyn MrFaldyn

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    42,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    you didn't use a trial before you spent hundreds of dollars on it? :hsugh:
     
  3. StPatty33

    StPatty33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Left of Self-Centered
    wow.. I was just planning on buying it within the next couple days..

    I've been using CS and I haven't noticed any degredation in quality from 7 and 6 before that.
     
  4. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I use CS at work. I have CS2 at home but I havn't used it yet. I like it. :dunno:
     
  5. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Adobe should really do a 30 day trial like JASC does for PSP.

    I've been using PSP forever simply cause its cheaper, but I really do prefer Adobe.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ditto.. I thought Adobe did do 30 day trials too.

    If you say CS sucked, why did you even bother with CS2?
     
  7. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I was not aware they did trials.

    stupid me.
     
  8. herzog

    herzog unedukated rednek

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    I jumped from 7.0 to CS2 and I haven't noticed this problem. I love CS2.
     
  9. NPH

    NPH Guest

    CS works good for me :dunno:
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    CS was a little more bloated than 7.0... And I found no useful new features. CS2 had some features that appealed to me... But it's a bloaded piece of shit. I have since gone to my closet, found 7.0, and have installed it. Much happier, now. :mamoru:
     
  11. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    cs is great, didnt try cs2 yet
     
  12. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    CS is great. I just don't see why upgrading to CS2 for such minimal upgrades.
     
  13. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I didn't notice much of a change with the exception of things like shortcuts and what not. CS seemed like a version with some forgotton stuff, which is the stuff that CS2 has. It seems to stress layer managment.
     
  14. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    CS has RAW support which dominates the shit out of 7.0

    ....I found CS2 was to bloated for my 512mb of ram
     
  15. StPatty33

    StPatty33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Left of Self-Centered
    Yeah, I think I'll be tossing in another gig stick before I replace Illustrator 10 and PhotoShop CS with the CS2 suite.
     
  16. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ineed it sure sounds like it does. :o But, from what I hear from the designers is that it has fairly superior memory managment as opposed to previous versions of Photoshop (Yes, it doesn't sound like it. :o ) and from what they tell me they have the program "Bridge" to thank for it. :dunno: Not too sure about that. The designers are not techs. :run:
     
  17. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    How many of you actually purchased Photoshop anyway? :squint:
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Fucking funny thing is that I paid for this shit, and I'm pissed off and want my money back... 99% of the people in this thread didn't pay for anything, and they're perfectly happy.

    wtf?

    fuck you adobe :squint:
     
  19. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I didn't pay for mine. :wavey: We had extra liscences at work and with permission I was given one. :wiggle: Then again, I'm also capable of working at home so it's not an entire waste. :dunno: At least it was paid for.
     
  20. AznFreeballiN

    AznFreeballiN mangekyo sharingan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    7,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so.cal
    u paid for adobe... :mamoru: :mamoru: :mamoru: :mamoru: :mamoru:
     
  21. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    I didn't ever bother to upgrade to CS, you're not the first person that has told this to me and 7.0 works just fine. Sorry man =\
     
  22. Peter Jun

    Peter Jun New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    CS2s been fine for me . The only stupid thing I think is when you're in the "font preview" it only shows you the preview for the word "Sample". Sometimes I can't really differentiate the fonts from just the word "Sample"

    I hope that made sense...
     
  23. BinaryMadman

    BinaryMadman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I have CS2 and it doesn't use up that much for me. I only have 512MB and that's more than enough for me to run the program and still have around 150-250MB for the actual size of the pics. :) I'm on Windows and using Windows XP SP1.
     
  24. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    You don't work with 300 DPI images.
     
  25. BinaryMadman

    BinaryMadman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Oh shoot, you're right. That would slow things down a bit, hehe.;)
     

Share This Page