Adobe CS4 and pixelmator

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by gui3, May 25, 2008.

  1. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    apparently Adobe CS4 will be faster because it will use the GPU for video accelleration.

    i think pixelmator deserves some credit here....they released their product (obviously not in the same league as CS3/4) that used GPU acceleration six months ago.
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i just cant wait for CS3 to use all 8 cores of my goodness.
     
  3. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anything on a mac that uses Quartz uses GPU acceleration. Adobe is just WAY behind the curve.
     
  4. DeepRun™

    DeepRun™ Guest

    We're gonna see some next-level LOLCat shit fo-sho.


    fo-shooooh
     
  5. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Too bad CS4 will NOT be 64-bit on the Mac. It will be on Windows.
     
  6. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    :ugh: what's their excuse?
     
  7. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    "At WWC 2007, Apple discontinued its Carbon 64-bit program, which left companies such as Adobe without an avenue to make their current code base 64-bit. What Adobe has to do now is transition all of the old code to Apple's native Cocoa programming language where it can then be turned into 64-bit."

    Who knows why Adobe hasn't bothered to goto Cocoa sooner. It's only been around for 7 years now. :rolleyes: At the same time I understand those that don't wanna use Cocoa.

    No date on when CS4 will be out but Adobe usually works in a 18-24 month release cycle. CS3 was released on March 27th 2007.
     
  8. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    So wouldnt that mean that CS3 will never be 64 bit but CS4 may?
     
  9. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    That info comes from a Macworld article with an interview with Adobe's senior project manager for Photoshop about how CS4 will not be 64-bit.
     
  10. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

  11. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    that really sucks.
     
  12. ej25power

    ej25power OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Word, and for all apps in general. I'm sick of seeing my core usage jumping from one to the other instead of all of them going at it.
     

Share This Page