SRS Adding to the job threads... story/rant

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by weezyfbaby, Oct 5, 2009.

1. weezyfbaby

weezyfbaby New Member

I have recently been put into an unfortunate situation that I am sure I will encounter plenty of times in my life (I'm 25) and I am sure is common among many workers.

Here is some background:
    I graduated a few years ago and was immediately hired full time for a small family run manufacturing business. I was appreciative of the pay and the chance to prove myself considering my grades coming out of my state school were not the best. During my time here I have done many things, improved many aspects of the company, and learnt alot. I am pretty good with computers and took computer science in college so along with the accounting work I did, I would help with any computer problem that I could. Anyway, a few months ago our sister company was sold and with the sale went some of our employees, one of them being my direct supervisor/boss, the controller of the company. Since he has been gone I have assumed all of his responsibilities as well as taking care of my normal work, and also assuming the management position of pretty much the whole current office (about 7 or 8 people in the office).

Now, previously, under the direction of our old owner (brother in law of our new owner) I had been kinda pushed off with my reviews/raises for the past 2 years. I had received one raise (imo I was slighted, but I did not complain and it did not detract from my work ethic or work production accuracy/timeliness) and that was one year after my original hire. Since then I have received no salary increase or annual review of my work. I have talked with our new owner more than once about a review/salary increase due to my increased responsibilities and I get told that we will definitely get to it and that he just has to talk to the other owners (which with the way things are going around here currently, I doubt will ever really happen) about it.