Ad Blocking with Safari

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bovine, Nov 10, 2007.

  1. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm sure plenty of you know about this, but I just wanted to share for those who didn't. There's a great css out there at

    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25274

    that when paired with the host file at

    http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm

    basically nullifies one of the premier reasons to use Firefox, namely AdBlock Plus. I've yet to see an ad that is blocked by ABP and not by this style sheet. Call me a noob all you like, but discovering this has converted me to the Safari cult. I recommend at least trying this for a few days to the remaining Firefox users.

    That's all; I hope this isn't a totally useless thread for at least some of you. For the others, feel free to flame away. :hs:
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2007
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Can you easily disable it incase for some reason you need the adds to show?
    Can you easily add new things to be blocked?
    can you easily remove things that you don't want blocked?
     
  3. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It's a style sheet, of course you can disable it.

    sudo vi /etc/hosts

    sudo vi /etc/hosts

    But to be honest, I never really used the second two options in ABP.

    I couldn't care less if you switch; this is more for current Safari users that miss ABP. If slow webpage rendering is worth the extra functionality that Firefox's addons offer you, I would recommend you stay with Firefox. I wasn't trying to start another browser-war thread.
     
  4. Dysfnctnl85

    Dysfnctnl85 IT/Apple/Rotary/(D)SLR Crew

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Georgia
    Is it better than Opera's? I can right-click->Block Content on any webpage. Pretty simple right there.
     
  5. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    thank you so much :)
     
  6. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    download link not working :(
     
  7. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Huh, I guess they just killed that link today.

    Here's the new version (they changed the name to AdSubtract).

    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25274
     
  8. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I don't know; try it and see.

    I don't see any ads and that's how I judge an adblock solution. :)
     
  9. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    how do i install?
     
  10. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    nevermind i got it... beautiful! :)
     
  11. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    omg it works. :eek3:


    but i used the automatic option so you can turn on/off using Applescript. [​IMG]
     
  12. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome. Thanks!
     
  13. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I figured you can disable the CSS, I asked if you can 'easily' disable it. With Adblock I just click on the item in the status bar and select Disable/Enable and it's done. So how easy is it to enable/disable that?

    As for your answer to the other 2 question; so in other words, No.


    I originally used Safari and quickly switched to Firefox because it's too limited.
     
  14. Rumble

    Rumble OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    thanks
     
  15. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    Okay, so I've used this for about a day now.... while good at what it does, it feels as though it slows down page loading just a bit. Granted I'm not on an Intel (yet), and that may have something to do with it, but it's just something I've noticed.
     

Share This Page