about to switch from windoze to macintosh

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nish81, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. nish81

    nish81 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    :o im tired of windows bullshit, so im about to get a sleek new macbook - nothing too fancy

    is there anything i should know in particular before i actually buy it? especially regarding pirated software and availability of different programs?

    :wavey:
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    dig up an invite to OiNK and it'll have any software you could ever want. :)
     
  3. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    Or Demonoid. THat's where I get most of my OS X stuff.
     
  4. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    versiontracker.com is another great place for free software.
     
  5. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    i do :o
     
  6. Mitchj

    Mitchj OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    112,085
    Likes Received:
    81
    The biggest problem for me when switching, is how slow microsoft office runs on the intel processors. Its horrendous. They need to get 2007 for OSX out now.
     
  7. notwist

    notwist Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was using Office 04 for a while but then just decided to spend the $75 on iWork. I may get Office when it is released in UB later this year
     
  8. Mitchj

    Mitchj OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    112,085
    Likes Received:
    81
    Does iwork work with office files?
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yes
     
  10. fl0rine2

    fl0rine2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    0
    uhh so true. word is so slow. oh well macs > windowz
     
  11. nish81

    nish81 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    you mean download the trial versions then use a serial?
    would keys made by windows keygens, (assuming i run a parallel desktop to open the keygens) work on mac software?

    no adobe cs2 for mac on demonoid :o
    edit: oops, sorry, found it :bigthumb:
    i have oink, but cant use it for apps, keeping a ratio is problematic for me with a 2 KB/s upload

    openoffice :wavey:

    edit: nevermind, i found adobe cs2 on demonoid :bigthumb:

    one last question, i heard that you can convert .iso files to .dmg files and then use them on a mac - is this true or is it just me being hopeful?
     
  12. nish81

    nish81 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    oh, and any other torrent sites for mac apps?
    found www.brokenstones.cn - is it invite-only?
    can post evidence of good ratio if anyone is willing to send an invite my way :o

    thanks a ton for the help guys! :wavey:
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2007
  13. Rip The Jacker

    Rip The Jacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    53,993
    Likes Received:
    0
    open office is slow too :hs:
     
  14. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I believe you are referring to Office 2008 so there will be a while until it's released.
     
  15. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    That's because it's being run in X11, you need to get NeoOffice. Check it out! :naughty:
     
  16. Rip The Jacker

    Rip The Jacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    53,993
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i tried :dunno:
     
  17. nish81

    nish81 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    holy, that sounds cool :coold: - can't wait for the mac :x: (i'll be buying it either today or tomorrow)

    so this serial thing is like one program or batch of txt files?

    I'm not buying a high spec machine - MacBook better, ~2ghz intel core 2 duo, 1 gig ram, and intel 950 GMA graphics card - would that support cs3 smoothly?

    thanks - it's an iso that could run on a mac, so yeah. :coold:

    thanks for the help!

    oh..well I'll try
     
  18. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    most definitely.. it will run really smooth!
     
  19. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    in for mac key gen.

    you'll love the switch. it's fantastic. i actually just switched back to windows last night. i have a dev box for windows at home, and my iBook right next to it for daily use.
     
  20. canIscream

    canIscream Dog Crew is Best Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    highfive! :h5: i knew my sub would pay off.
     
  21. nish81

    nish81 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    okay, so I got the macbook three hours ago and im loving it :wiggle: :bigthumb:

    found the serialbox and its damn awesome :coold:

    the only problem im having is with my windows installation on parallel desktop: im using the backup system disc that came with my PC, which is XP professional and SP1...it's asking me for a 'Product Key' - whenever i formatted my PC with this disc it never did that :hs:
    the disc came in a clear plastic sleeve, with no key or anything on it...anyone know what the product key is?

    (and serialbox isn't working on this one :o )
     
  22. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    check your PM's.
     
  23. nish81

    nish81 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    :bigthumb: thanks!
     

Share This Page