? about dual 12V railed PSUs

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Supernaut, Jul 13, 2005.

  1. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's my understanding that a dual rail PSU dedicates one 12V rail to the motherboard 20+4 connector, and the other rail is used for the various 3.5" and 5.25" devices onboard. Is this correct? I have 8 HDs, 2 DVD-RWs and I know that a 18A or 20A 12V rail won't cut it. I would be better off with a single rail PSU capable of 36A or 40A on the rail, with the mobo and all devices on that rail, right? Otherwise, I'd be underutilizing one rail and overutilizing the other.
     
  2. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW, I fried my Enermax 430W this morning, hence the question. But I just ordered a Thermaltake Silent Pure Power 680W PSU with 3 12V rails, so problem solved.
     
  3. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    just curious, why the fuck do you need 8 hds?
     
  4. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,746
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't really need them, but I run a 2 RAID-5 arrays and a RAID-0 array for holding DV, GIS data, a couple of large databases and all the shit I download from IRC and Usenet. 1.4TB useable capacitah. I'm a storage whore.
     
  6. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page